Lafferty Wins Alligator Enduro

Kit Palmer | March 6, 2003

KTM’s Mike Lafferty was at it again at the Daytona Dirt Riders’ Alligator Enduro in Daytona Beach, Florida, today. The National Enduro Champion recorded yet another enduro victory, topping former champ Randy Hawkins by three points. In what was described by many of the competitors as a very tough and challenging (not to mention wet) ride, Lafferty, riding a 400 EXC four-stroke, dropped just 10 points to Hawkins’ 13. Hawkins rode a Yamaha YZ250F.

There was a four-way tie for third place, involving Husqvarna CR125-mounted Fred Hoess, Yamaha YZ250-mounted Ty Davis, Suzuki RM250-mounted Bradley Hodge and Yamaha rider Russell Pearson. All four riders dropped 15 points, but Hoess edged out Davis, Hodge and Pearson (in that order) on the tie-breakers.

Seventh place went to SETRA champ Allen Gravitt (KTM), followed by Michael Grizzle.

Some of the other class winners included Alan Randt (A Vet), Ryan Crist (125/200cc A) and Robby Neely (A Four-Stroke).

Kit Palmer | Off-Road Editor

Kit Palmer started his career at Cycle News in 1984 and he’s been testing dirt and streetbikes every since – plus covering any event that uses some form of a knobby tire. He’s also our resident motorcycle mileage man with a commute of 120 miles a day.