Texas AMA National Hare and Hound Race Report

Press Release | February 25, 2020

Factory Beta’s Joe Wasson takes the overall in Texas for Lonestar National. Tarah Gieger and Cole Conatser earn repeat victories.

Texas AMA National Hare and Hound Results

This is a race report provided by National Hare and Hound / Photos by Mark Kariya…

The fun continued in Lubbock, Texas over the weekend for round two of the 2020 Kenda SRT AMA National Hare and Hound Championship presented by FMF. Hosted by Lubbock Trail Riders Motorcycle Club, an epic, rain-dampened 70+ mile race course with some of the best flowing single track set the stage for what would be an intense day of racing.

Texas AMA National Hare and Hound Results
Photographer Mark Kariya captures the intense race-long battle among the top four overall, coming out of the pits: Dalton Shirey, Joe Wasson, Jacob Argubright and Zane Roberts.
Texas AMA National Hare and Hound Results

Saturday morning started the race weekend with Youth classes. Riders ages 4 to 12 lined up on the FMF start Line to race on a course made especially for each class. Following a riders meeting and the National Anthem, the littlest of riders, the PeeWees, lined up for the banner drop.

In race one, PeeWee riders from various states would come together to race in a fun, 3-mile course with fun, flowing trails. Off the start, Walker Segale-Van Dover jumped into the lead with Case Conner close behind. Corby Jaramillo moved into third place, just ahead of Katin Lessing and Tristan Garland behind. Over the next five laps, Dover would keep his strong lead ahead of Conner, while Jaramillo battled for third overall with Katin Lessing. Lessing ultimately made the pass on Jaramillo. As the littlest racers of the series crossed the finish line, Dover claimed victory with Conner and Lessing to round out the podium.

Texas AMA National Hare and Hound Results

A combined race 2 with all remaining Youth classes would see a long, more technical course, competing for an hour and a half. Off the start, up-and-coming youth racer Jett Lessing jumped into the lead on lap one ahead of Ruffin Dodson, Mikey Wayne, Tallon Smith, and Colton Boney in the top five. Over the next six laps, Lessing built his gap on the competition to claim the overall win ahead of Dodson and Smith, who worked his way up from fourth to third. Meanwhile, Malcom Pearson claimed the Micro Mini class win ahead of Talan Thatcher and Wyatt Pereria.
After just the right amount of rain fell on Sunday morning, racers lined up on the FMF start line ready for a perfect day of racing. With riders lining up by class, the intensity would be heightened as racers could jump into class battles right from the start.

Texas AMA National Hare and Hound Results Texas AMA National Hare and Hound Results

At the drop of the banner, the Pro line (along side the Pro 250 and Pro Women) charged into the first turn and through the holeshot flags. Taking the FMF Holeshot, Dalton Shirey led the field that included Joe Wasson, Jacob Argubright, Zane Roberts, Nic Garvin, Axel Pearson, Preston Campbell and more into the first loop.

With zero dust ahead, the front-runners came together, and began to put a gap between the pack as they pushed one another. Coming into the pits, Three Brothers Racing’s Dalton Shirey came in with the lead position, just two seconds ahead of Factory Beta’s Joe Wasson, Off-Road Support rider Jacob Argubright and Factory Beta’s Zane Roberts. Each rider fueled quickly and the group charged into the second, final loop. Coming out of the pits, Wasson made the pass for second and a battle ensued between he and Argubright. Unfortunately Argubright was caught off guard by a rooted rock that sent him to the ground; forcing him to pull out of the race.

With any mistake costing a second, and ultimately a position on the podium, the fight was on for the overall victory. Wasson charged for Shirey, with Roberts close behind. Wasson and Shirey Came together, and the two duked it out to swap the lead multiple times in the final 10 miles to the finish line. Wasson found the extra edge to take the win as he crossed the finish line, with Shirey and Roberts finishing second and third. Ryan Grantom found his personal-best finish in the series this weekend taking fourth overall, ahead of JCR Honda’s Preston Campbell, Axel Pearson, David Kamo, Clayton Gerstner, Nic Garvin, Luke Allen, Kadin Guard and Brandon Duvall.

Factory Beta rider Zane Roberts now sits with the overall points lead, ahead of Dalton Shirey, Joe Wasson, Jacob Argubright and David Kamo heading into round three.

Texas AMA National Hare and Hound Race report
Pro Podium (L-R): Dalton Shirey, Joe Wasson, Zane Roberts.

In the Pro 250 class, off-road specialist Cole Conatser once again topped the Pro 250 podium alongside his competition, maintaining his points lead heading into round three.

Off the start and into the first loop, Colorado native Bryce Smith contended with the typical National racers, leading the pack over the next 30-miles into the pits. Round two podium finisher Corbin Eatherton came in wheel-to-wheel with Smith, with Conatser and Corbin McPhearson in tow.

The front-runners would switch up over the next 40+ miles, as Conatser moved up to the front with McPhearson and Smith behind as they crossed the finish line. Conatser now leads in points ahead of McPhearson and Tayson Weeks heading into round three in just two weeks.

Texas AMA National Hare and Hound Results
Pro 250 Podium (L-R): Corbin McPhearson, Cole Conatser and Bryce Smith

The Elegant Cabinetry Pro Women’s class continues to see top talent compete for the podium, and ultimately the year-end championship bonus of $4000. The ladies, who come from various locations including California, Colorado and Utah, lined up on Sunday morning ready to keep the chase for the championship a close one.

On loop one, JCR Honda-backed Tarah Gieger came through less than a minute ahead of Stout Racing’s Rachel Stout, Colorado’s Britney Gallegos and Factory Beta’s Morgan Tanke. With a tighter, twistier loop two ahead of the field, it would be an all-out battle to the finish with rain-soaked trails ahead.

Texas AMA National Hare and Hound Results

From the pits to the alternate fuel, Gallegos made the pass on Stout and set her sights on Gieger. The two came together and ensued in an intense battle to the finish line; finishing 1 and 2 respectively. Stout maintained her composure and raced full speed towards the two front-runners who were now pushing each other through the Texas brush. Stout came through the checkers just over a minute in third with Tanke in tow.

Texas AMA National Hare and Hound Results
(L-R) Stephanie Woolslayer, Ashlee Gage, Lexi Baker.

The Women A podium was awarded with the FMF Pipe Dream Challenge contingency, where they earned $300, $200 and $100 toward FMF exhaust products.

For complete Texas AMA National Hare and Hound Results, visit www.nationalhareandhound.com


Click here for all the latest Off-Road Racing news.