MXGP Of Germany Results 2019

Cycle News Staff | June 24, 2019

Once again, it was Tim Gajser and Jorge Prado taking the overall wins in the 2019 FIM Motocross World Championship. This time, their victories came at the MXGP of Germany in Teutschenthal, June 23.

Gajser Win MXGP Of Germany 2019 Teutschenthal

MXGP Of Germany Results 2019
Tim Gajser won for the fifth consecutive time. Photo: Honda Racing

In MXGP, Gajser (Honda HRC) captured his fifth overall victory in a row after topping both motos and pulling well clear of Antonio Cairoli (Red Bull KTM) in the race for the 2019 MXGP Championship. Cairoli did not suit up for the race, as he recuperates from a dislocated shoulder that he suffered the previous weekend. Gajser now leads the Italian by 83 points in the MXGP Championship.

The Slovenian, Gajser, won both MXGP motos with room to spare, topping runner-ups Arnaud Tonus (Yamaha) by nearly six seconds in the first moto and Pauls Jonass (Husqvarna) by seven seconds in the second moto.

Tonus ended up taking second overall on the day with 2-3 motos, while Gautier Paulin (Yamaha) captured third overall via 5-4 motos. Jonass (10-2) and Yamaha’s Jeremy Seewer (3-8) rounded out the top five overall.

“I was enjoying riding on the track this weekend,” said Gajser who topped Saturday’s qualifying and took the holeshot in both GP motos. “It was a really technical circuit with deep ruts which made line selection really important. I’m also really happy to take the holeshot in both races, as well as the qualifier yesterday, because we weren’t able to do that in the early part of the season, but now we are getting the perfect jump out of the gate.

“In the first moto I did make a little mistake, but I was still able to pick up the bike and remount as the leader, so that went okay,” added Gajser. “Then in the second race, I didn’t want to push too hard. I pulled out a lead of about five seconds and then kept it smooth because the track was a little sketchy in that second moto. The shadows and the sun was quite low which caused problems on certain parts of the track.”

Red Bull KTM’s Jeffrey Herlings joined his teammate Cairoli on the sidelines. Herlings suffered a broken leg last week which required minor surgery. The 2018 MXGP Champion will be out of action again for a few more weeks.

MXGP Of Germany 2019 Video Highlights

Prado (Red Bull KTM) won both MX2 motos. The Spaniard took the holeshot in motos one and two and was unstoppable from then on out. It was his ninth grand prix victory of the year.

Prado had plenty of room to spar at the end of both motos. He took the checkered flag nearly 12 seconds ahead of teammate Tom Vialle in the first moto and 14 seconds ahead of French rider Mathys Boisrame (Honda) in the second moto.

Thomas Kjer Olsen (Husqvarna), the closest rider to Prado in the championship, went 4-4 on the day for fourth overall. Olsen now trails Prado by 44 points in the class championship.

Vialle ended up second overall on the day with a 2-3 for his third trip to the podium in what is his rookie year, and Boisrame took third overall with a 7-2.

“I started the weekend a bit weak and didn’t have a good feeling, but today I turned it around, and I felt better in the second race,” said Prado. “It was a tough track, but it was cool to race here. The second race was another great one for me. I felt very good compared to the first race, and I am very happy about it.” CN

2019 FIM Motocross World Championship

Round 10

Teutschenthal, Germany

Results: June 23, 2019


MXGP Race 1 Top Ten: 1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:25.465; 2. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:05.845; 3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:06.889; 4. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:21.269; 5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:22.489; 6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:25.637; 7. Max Anstie (GBR, KTM), +0:27.890; 8. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Honda), +0:31.613; 9. Brian Bogers (NED, Honda), +0:34.051; 10. Pauls Jonass (LAT, Husqvarna), +0:34.352;

MXGP Race 2 Top Ten: 1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:20.466; 2. Pauls Jonass (LAT, Husqvarna), +0:07.093; 3. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:10.539; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:12.221; 5. Max Anstie (GBR, KTM), +0:12.981; 6. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:13.279; 7. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), +0:20.071; 8. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:29.198; 9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Honda), +0:36.100; 10. Ivo Monticelli (ITA, KTM), +0:45.649;

MXGP Overall Top 10: 1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 50 points; 2. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 42 p.; 3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 34 p.; 4. Pauls Jonass (LAT, HUS), 33 p.; 5. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 33 p.; 6. Max Anstie (GBR, KTM), 30 p.; 7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 30 p.; 8. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 27 p.; 9. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 25 p.; 10. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 23 p.;

MXGP Championship Top 10: 1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 441 points; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 358 p.; 3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 289 p.; 4. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 288 p.; 5. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 288 p.; 6. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 249 p.; 7. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 225 p.; 8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 220 p.; 9. Pauls Jonass (LAT, HUS), 219 p.; 10. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 208 p.;


MX2 Race 1 Top Ten:1. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 35:01.812; 2. Tom Vialle (FRA, KTM), +0:11.614; 3. Henry Jacobi (GER, Kawasaki), +0:19.468; 4. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, Husqvarna), +0:22.193; 5. Bas Vaessen (NED, KTM), +0:24.348; 6. Jed Beaton (AUS, Husqvarna), +0:26.027; 7. Mathys Boisrame (FRA, Honda), +0:34.245; 8. Mitchell Harrison (USA, Kawasaki), +0:36.107; 9. Jago Geerts (BEL, Yamaha), +0:36.806; 10. Brent Van doninck (BEL, Honda), +0:45.283;

MX2 Race 2 Top Ten:1. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 35:00.126; 2. Mathys Boisrame (FRA, Honda), +0:14.355; 3. Tom Vialle (FRA, KTM), +0:16.831; 4. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, Husqvarna), +0:18.041; 5. Jed Beaton (AUS, Husqvarna), +0:20.732; 6. Bas Vaessen (NED, KTM), +0:23.108; 7. Maxime Renaux (FRA, Yamaha), +0:25.404; 8. Michele Cervellin (ITA, Yamaha), +0:27.217; 9. Henry Jacobi (GER, Kawasaki), +0:28.983; 10. Mitchell Harrison (USA, Kawasaki), +0:36.715;

MX2  Overall Classification Top 10:1. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 50 points; 2. Tom Vialle (FRA, KTM), 42 p.; 3. Mathys Boisrame (FRA, HON), 36 p.; 4. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 36 p.; 5. Henry Jacobi (GER, KAW), 32 p.; 6. Jed Beaton (AUS, HUS), 31 p.; 7. Bas Vaessen (NED, KTM), 31 p.; 8. Mitchell Harrison (USA, KAW), 24 p.; 9. Michele Cervellin (ITA, YAM), 23 p.; 10. Morgan Lesiardo (ITA, KTM), 18 p.;

MX2 Championship Classification Top 10:1. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 447 points; 2. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 403 p.; 3. Jago Geerts (BEL, YAM), 313 p.; 4. Tom Vialle (FRA, KTM), 284 p.; 5. Henry Jacobi (GER, KAW), 283 p.; 6. Ben Watson (GBR, YAM), 246 p.; 7. Mitchell Evans (AUS, HON), 226 p.; 8. Adam Sterry (GBR, KAW), 204 p.; 9. Bas Vaessen (NED, KTM), 185 p.; 10. Michele Cervellin (ITA, YAM), 179 p.;

Click here for all the latest MXGP news.