WorldSBK and WorldSSP Misano Sunday Results

Gordon Ritchie | June 18, 2017

Melandri Makes His Breakthrough

Melandri’s win marked his first for Ducati and the 100th win for an Italian rider in WorldSBK.

Marco Melandri ( Racing – Ducati) recorded his first win of the 2017 season on Sunday to restore his damaged pride and save Ducati’s home weekend after all Saturday’s problems. This was his 20th career WorldSBK race, after winning previously on Yamaha, BMW and Aprilia machines.

Behind, Jonathan Rea (Kawasaki Racing Team) moved up from fourth with seven laps to go, and was finally promoted to second, with his team-mate Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) third.

Starting from pole, under the 2017 race two grid rules, long time leader Jordi Torres (Althea BMW Racing Team) was on for a definite podium at least until his bike quit on him with a couple of laps to run. Xavi Fores (Barni Racing Ducati) also failed to finish after leading the early laps.

Fourth was Michael van der Mark (Pata Yamaha Official WorldSBK Team), fifth Eugene Laverty (Milwaukee Aprilia) and sixth Lorenzo Savadori (Milwaukee Aprilia).

Raffaele De Rosa (Althea BMW Racing Team) placed seventh, Randy Krummenacher (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) eighth.

The top ten, in a race badly affected by non-finishes, was rounded out by Leandro Mercado (IodaRacing Team Aprilia) and Stefan Bradl (Red Bull Honda World Superbike Team).

Chaz Davies ( Racing – Ducati) was ruled out of the race after his first race vertebra injuries.

Alex Lowes (Pata Yamaha Official WorldSBK Team) fell and no scored in a race where only 12 riders of the 20 starters made the finish.

WorldSBK Misano Race Two Results

Sofuoglu Wins Four In A Row

Four wins in a row means Sofuoglu (1) is only five points off the title lead.

Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) showed his experience to win his fourth WorldSSP race in succession in the 2017 season to close to within five points of the championship lead after seven rounds.

An early fight from championship leader Lucas Mahias (GRT Yamaha Official WorldSSP Team) saw him lead and be re-passed by Sofuoglu, but eventually fall not once but twice the second time being unable to re-start.

Jules Cluzel (CIA Landlord Insurance Honda) took up the challenge and worked hard out front with Sofuoglu to take the pace way from eventual third placed rider Federico Caricasulo (GRT Yamaha Official WorldSSP Team).

Behind the podium three of Sofuoglu, Cluzel and Caricasulo, Patrick Jacobsen (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) finished fourth, only held back by his third row starting position as he lapped at the same pace as the leaders for most of the contest

Kyle Smith (GEMAR Balloons – Team Lorini Honda) and Gino Rea (Team GO ELEVEN Kawasaki) finished fifth and sixth respectively, with Smith 12.8 seconds from the win after 19 laps in the hot Misano sunshine.

Stand-in rider Axel Bassani (3570 Puccetti Racing FMI Kawasaki) was seventh, ahead of strong 2017 runner Sheridan Morais (Kallio Race System Yamaha).

Hannes Soomer (WILSport Racedays Honda) and Aussie star Anthony West (EAB West Racing Yamaha) completed the top ten. In the championship points, Mahias has an unchanged 105 and Sofuoglu now sits on 100.

The WorldSSP summer break starts now, with no race at Laguna Seca.

Misano WorldSSP Race Result


Gordon Ritchie | World Superbike Editor You may not understand Ritchie and his Scottish accent if you had him on the phone, but you can definitely understand what he writes as our World Superbike editor.