2019 MXGP Of Italy At Imola Results

Cycle News Staff | August 18, 2019

Glenn Coldenhoff (Standing Construct KTM) captured his first MXGP overall victory since 2015, and he did it with a first career double moto sweep at the MXGP of Italy at Imola, August 18. However, it was Honda HRC’s Tim Gajser who stole the headlines by clinching the 2019 MXGP Championship, his third world title of his career.

Gajser Clinches 2019 MXGP Championship

2019 MXGP Of Italy At Imola Results
Tim Gajser celebrates his third world MX title in Italy.

The Slovenian, Gajser, officially clinched the MXGP title after placing fifth in the first moto. Gajser was slowed by crashes in both motos, going 5-2 on the day. But he got to celebrate on the podium with third overall behind winner Coldenhoff and Swiss rider Jeremy Seewer (Yamaha).

Seewer went 2-3 on the day for a career best overall finish in MXGP.

Gautier Paulin (Yamaha) and Pauls Jonass (Husqvarna) completed the top five overall.

“I won a race and the overall in 2015, but now going 1-1 here it is amazing, and I wish to thank my team,” Coldenhoff said. “We had a tough time and a lot of negatives, but now I’m happy and my boss, too. I won my first GP with him and also my third today. It means a lot. I never got 1-1 in the MXGP class, and I want to thank everyone for helping me out.”

“It was crazy,” said the new champ, Gajser. “I am super happy, and I couldn’t wish for a better season or a team around me. I didn’t sleep a lot last night, but today is a big day, and I tried to take this race the same as all the others. I was fast in the first race even if I didn’t have the best start, but I got to second and tried to win the race, but I was quite nervous and I couldn’t. Second race was better. I’m really happy to finish on the podium and to get the 2019 MXGP title. Also, I want to thank my family and my girlfriend, and all the fans who follow me.”

MXGP Of Italy At Imola Video Highlights

In MX2, Red Bull KTM’s Jorge Prado recorded his 25th and 26th moto wins of the year for his 14th overall victory of 2019. The Spaniard now leads his nearest rival, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Thomas Kjer Olsen, in the class championship by 130 points.

Olsen went 2-2 in Italy.

There was plenty of carnage going on behind the two leaders, and when it was all over, it was Frenchman Maxime Renaux (Yamaha) who landed on the last step of the MX2 podium. Belgian Jago Geerts (Yamaha) was fourth overall and Dutchman Calvin Viaanderen (Honda) fifth.

“It was an amazing day and yesterday it was very good,” Prado said. “We are having a fantastic 2019 season. I’m very happy to get the win and next weekend will hopefully be a good one. I’m very happy to get two races wins, and I am really excited.” CN

2019 FIM Motocross World Championship

Round 15

Grand Prix of Italy at Imola

RESULTS: August 18, 2019


MX2 – Grand Prix Race 1 Top Ten: 1. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 34:05.826; 2. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, Husqvarna), +0:08.238; 3. Maxime Renaux (FRA, Yamaha), +0:20.216; 4. Jago Geerts (BEL, Yamaha), +0:26.794; 5. Mathys Boisrame (FRA, Honda), +0:40.810; 6. Rene Hofer (AUT, KTM), +0:42.678; 7. Iker Larranaga Olano (ESP, KTM), +0:44.149; 8. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, Honda), +0:44.985; 9. Morgan Lesiardo (ITA, KTM), +1:01.497; 10. Jan Pancar (SLO, Yamaha), +1:06.519;

MX2 – Grand Prix Race 2 Top Ten: 1. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 33:33.346; 2. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, Husqvarna), +0:05.383; 3. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, Honda), +0:09.582; 4. Maxime Renaux (FRA, Yamaha), +0:11.834; 5. Jago Geerts (BEL, Yamaha), +0:15.620; 6. Henry Jacobi (GER, Kawasaki), +0:43.287; 7. Iker Larranaga Olano (ESP, KTM), +0:49.076; 8. Darian Sanayei (USA, Kawasaki), +0:53.416; 9. Alvin Östlund (SWE, Husqvarna), +0:58.749; 10. Jeremy Sydow (GER, Husqvarna), +1:02.282

MX2 – GP Top Ten: 1. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 50 points; 2. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 44 p.; 3. Maxime Renaux (FRA, YAM), 38 p.; 4. Jago Geerts (BEL, YAM), 34 p.; 5. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, HON), 33 p.; 6. Iker Larranaga Olano (ESP, KTM), 28 p.; 7. Rene Hofer (AUT, KTM), 25 p.; 8. Henry Jacobi (GER, KAW), 23 p.; 9. Mathys Boisrame (FRA, HON), 22 p.; 10. Alvin Östlund (SWE, HUS), 21 p.;

MX2 – World Championship Top Ten: 1. Jorge Prado (ESP, KTM), 694 points; 2. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 564 p.; 3. Jago Geerts (BEL, YAM), 447 p.; 4. Henry Jacobi (GER, KAW), 422 p.; 5. Tom Vialle (FRA, KTM), 416 p.; 6. Adam Sterry (GBR, KAW), 320 p.; 7. Maxime Renaux (FRA, YAM), 309 p.; 8. Ben Watson (GBR, YAM), 282 p.; 9. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, HON), 281 p.; 10. Mathys Boisrame (FRA, HON), 255 p.;


MXGP Grand Prix Race 1 Top Ten: 1. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 34:54.225; 2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:02.337; 3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:06.973; 4. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +0:09.459; 5. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:19.461; 6. Pauls Jonass (LAT, Husqvarna), +0:24.446; 7. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, Husqvarna), +0:27.533; 8. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:29.647; 9. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Kawasaki), +0:30.804; 10. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:45.766.

MXGP – Grand Prix Race 2 Top Ten: 1. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 34:36.332; 2. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), +0:02.769; 3. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, Yamaha), +0:04.480; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:10.850; 5. Pauls Jonass (LAT, Husqvarna), +0:17.500; 6. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:24.930; 7. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:27.542; 8. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), +0:29.951; 9. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Kawasaki), +0:34.606; 10. Tanel Leok (EST, Husqvarna), +0:42.619.

MXGP – GP Top Ten:1. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 50 points; 2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 42 p.; 3. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 38 p.; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 38 p.; 5. Pauls Jonass (LAT, HUS), 31 p.; 6. Tommy Searle (GBR, KAW), 27 p.; 7. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 26 p.; 8. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, KAW), 24 p.; 9. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 23 p.; 10. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KTM), 22 p.

MXGP – World Championship Top Ten:1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 664 points; 2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, YAM), 481 p.; 3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, YAM), 440 p.; 4. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, YAM), 419 p.; 5. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 399 p.; 6. Arminas Jasikonis (LTU, HUS), 377 p.; 7. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 362 p.; 8. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 358 p.; 9. Pauls Jonass (LAT, HUS), 352 p.; 10. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, HON), 347 p.

Click here for all the latest MXGP news.