2018 NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle Pomona Results

| November 12, 2018

Matt Smith defeated Eddie Krawiec at the final round of the 2018 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Championship in Pomona, California, to win the Pro Stock Motorcycle title for the third time of his career.

And The Title Goes Too…Matt Smith!

Matt Smith won the 2018 NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle Championship.
Matt Smith celebrates the win and the NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle Championship at Pomona. Photo: Matt Polito

It was a dramatic winner-take-all showdown between Smith (Elite Performance EBR) and Krawiec (Screamin’ Eagle H-D) in the Pomona final, with Smith topping Krawiec with an elapsed time of 6.76 seconds versus Kraweic’s 6.8. And for good measure, Smith also ran 201.22-mph at the finish line, the fastest speed recorded to date by a Pro Stock Motorcycle.

“Racing Eddie in the final, I guess that’s the way it was meant to be,” Smith said. “It was supposed to be a storybook ending. This was the last of the four NHRA pro championships to be decided on Sunday so I guess we gave the fans a good reason to stick around and watch the bikes run. In the final, I just knew I had to stay focused. I had to leave on time, hit the shift points, and keep the bike straight. I managed to do all that and it was enough to get the win.”

Smith and Krawiec went 1-2 in the 2018 Championship, with Hector Arana Jr. (Lucas Oil EBR) taking third.



1. Matt Smith (EBR)

2. Eddie Krawiec (H-D)

Final 2018 NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle standings
1. Matt Smith 2,666
2. Eddie Krawiec 2,627
3. Hector Arana Jr 2,536
4. LE Tonglet 2,532
5. Jerry Savoie 2,464
6. Andrew Hines 2,450
7. Angelle Sampey 2,349
8. Angie Smith 2,303
9. Steve Johnson 2,290
10. Scotty Pollacheck 2,258

Click here for all the latest Drag Racing news.



By Contributor