2018 Idaho AMA EnduroCross Championship Final Results

Cycle News Staff | November 4, 2018

Cody Webb won the final round of the 2018 AMA EnduroCross Championship at the Ford Idaho Center in Nampa, Idaho, November 3. But that wasn’t enough for him to retain the number-one for next year. Instead, it will transfer over to Colton Haaker who is the new 2018 AMA Endurocross Champion, despite finishing second on the night.

Haaker Wraps Up 2018 Title

2018 Boise EnduroCross podium.
(Left to right) Colton Haaker, Cody Webb and Ty Tremaine celebrate on the Boise podium.

Haaker (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) came into the final with just a six-point lead over Webb, but that grew to seven after he out-dueled Webb in the bracket-racing competition, leading up to the main event. Going into the final, Haaker needed to finish at least third to win the championship, even if Webb won.

Haaker, however, found himself in the lead shortly after the start with Webb right behind him. Webb attacked on the second lap, passing Haaker for the lead. Haaker didn’t put up much of a fight.

Webb then led it the rest of the way, and all he could do at that point was hope for a big mistake from Haaker that never happened.

The Husqvarna rider rode conservatively and smoothly to the finishing line, finishing a safe 16 seconds behind the winner, Webb. When all was said and done, Haaker closed out the 2018 season just four points ahead of his long-time rival Webb to claim his second-career AMA EnduroCross Championship. His last crown came in 2016.

“It’s amazing to come back and win the EnduroCross title again after losing it,” Haaker said. “It wasn’t easy coming back from not winning and gaining the confidence to get back up to the front.”

“Losing the championship is a bummer but it’s nice to cap of the season with a big win here in Idaho like this,” Webb said.

There was also a battle for third in the championship final between Ty Tremaine (Beta USA) and Kyle Redmond (SRT-Husqvarna). Going into the main event, Redmond led Tremaine by just one point. Things seemed to be going Redmond’s way when he held fourth off the start with Tremaine in eighth.

Tremaine, however, put on a charge and caught Redmond—who had taken over third—by the third lap. The two riders battled back and forth for a long time until Tremaine, now in third, managed to put a gap between him and Redmond late in the race. Tremaine took the checkered flag in third, approximately 20 seconds ahead of Redmond, to take third in the 2018 championship by just one point over Redmond.

Rounding out the top five overall on the night was Ty Cullins (Beta USA).

Geoff Aaron, who was sixth on the night, nipped Cullins by one point for fifth in the championship.

Cory Graffunder (SRT-Husqvarna) finished seventh in only his third race back after a serious ankle injury. Max Gerston (Beta USA) finished eighth in only his second race back from a hand injury. Noah Kepple (GasGas) finished ninth after battling with a large group of riders for the fifth spot. Cooper Abbott (RMP Team Maxxis KTM).

Kacy Martinez (FMF KTM) came into the Idaho final with a three-point lead over Shelby Turner (AE Racing) in the Women’s class. Turner was the two-time defending champion and, if she won the race, she would tie the points and take the championship with the final race finishing position being the tie-breaker. Martinez took the lead at the start, but Turner made a block pass to take the point position about halfway through the first lap. Martinez then passed Turner back on the next lap with a similar block pass in the same corner leading into the Matrix. A lap later, both riders had trouble in the wood pit and were bar to bar as they both pushed their bikes to get going. Martinez came out with the lead and held the position for the remaining two laps to take the win and her first EnduroCross Championship. Morgan Tanke (Beta USA) finished third in the race and the championship.

2018 AMA EnduroCross Championship

(Round 6 of 6)

Ford Idaho Center Arena

Nampa, Idaho

RESULTS: November 3, 2018


  1. Cody Webb (KTM
  2. Colton Haaker (Hus)
  3. Ty Tremaine (Beta)
  4. Kyle Redmond (Hus)
  5. Ty Cullins (Beta)
  6. Geoff Aaron (GG)
  7. Cory Graffunder (Hus)
  8. Max Gerston (Beta)
  9. Noah Kepple (GG)
  10. Cooper Abbott (KTM)
  11. Mason Ottersberg (Beta)
  12. Dustin McCarthy (Yam)
  13. Nick Thompson (KTM)
  14. Keith Sweeten (KTM)

2018 AMA Super EnduroCross Championship Final Points

  1. Colton Haaker (Hus) 150
  2. Cody Webb (KTM) 146
  3. Ty Tremaine (Beta) 100
  4. Kyle Redmond (Hus) 99
  5. Geoff Aaron (GG) 90
  6. Ty Cullins (Beta) 89
  7. Noah Kepple (GG) 83
  8. Cooper Abbott (KTM) 76
  9. Mason Ottersberg (Beta) 55
  10. Dustin McCarthy (Yam) 53

Click here for complete results.

Click here for all the latest EnduroCross Racing news.