2018 Arizona AMA EnduroCross Championship Results

Cycle News Staff | August 26, 2018

Cody Webb opened the 2018 AMA EnduroCross Championship with a win in Prescott Valley, Arizona, August 25, at the Prescott Valley Event Center. It was a hard-fought victory, as the defending champion had to fight off longtime rival Colton Haaker before taking the checkered flag.

Cody Webb Kicks It Off With Arizona Win

Cody Webb won the 2018 Arizona EnduroCross.
Cody Webb emerged victorious at the 2018 AMA EnduroCross Championship opener in Prescott Valley, Arizona. Photo: Tanner Yeager

Webb (FMF KTM) started the main event off with the holeshot with Haaker (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) right behind him. The two went back and forth for the lead early on before Webb took control and seemed to be headed for a sure victory after opening up a 12-second lead. But things started unraveling for Webb after making a couple of mistakes and then suffering a full-on crash that handed the lead back to Haaker on the 13th of what would be a 19-lap race.

Then Haaker had troubles of his own after getting slowed by lapped riders and then crashing on a tricky uphill rock section, which allowed Webb back into the lead position.

This time, Webb was able to hold the point position to the finish and take the win. Haaker ended up second.

“Colton and I were going back and forth,” Webb said. “The course was so nasty, and this was what EnduroCross is supposed to be. People were crashing everywhere, including Colton and me, and the crowd was so into it. This was a great way to get the season started.”

Haaker said, “We lapped a lot of riders and Cody lost out on some lappers and I got into the lead. And then I lost out on some lappers again. It was a brutal one.”

Third on the night went to Trystan Hart (SRT Husqvarna), followed by Kyle Redmond (SRT Husqvarna) and Ty Cullins (Beta).

Geoff Aaron (GasGas) and Ty Tremaine, on the electric-powered Alta Redshift, finished sixth and seventh, respectively.

Max Gerston (Beta), Cooper Abbott (KTM) and Noah Kepple (GasGas) rounded out the top 10 overall.

Kacy Martinez (FMF KTM) led just one lap of the Women’s final but it was the all-important last lap. Martinez passed defending champ Shelby Turner (KTM) on the final go-around to take the win.

Morgan Tanke (Beta) was third on the night. CN

2018 AMA EnduroCross Series (Round 1)

Prescott Valley Event Center

Prescott Valley, Arizona

RESULTS: August 25, 2018

1. Cody Webb (KTM)
2. Colton Haaker (Hus)
3. Trystan Hart (Hus)
4. Kyle Redmond (Hus)
5. Ty Cullins (Beta)
6. Geoff Aaron (GG)
7. Ty Tremaine (Alta)
8. Max Gerston (Beta)
9. Cooper Abbott (KTM)
10. Noah Kepple (GG)
11. Benjamin Herrera (Beta)
12. Dustin McCarthy (Yam)
13. Mason Ottersberg (Beta)

Click here for all the latest EnduroCross Racing news.