Russell Wins Palatka Wild Boar GNCC

Cycle News Staff | March 12, 2018

Russell Wins Palatka Wild Boar GNCC – Kailub Russell claimed the overall win in round two of the AMSOIL GNCC Series in Palatka, Florida, March 11.

Russell Wins Palatka Wild Boar GNCC

Russell Wins Palatka Wild Boar GNCC
Kailub Russell, Steward Baylor and Thad Duvall made up the Wild Boar podium. Photo: Darrin Chapman

It took Russell a lap to get settled down and find his groove after completing the first lap of the Moose Racing Wild Boar GNCC in fourth place. From the second lap on, he slowly worked his way to the front, passing early leader Steward Baylor Jr. on lap four of what would be a six-lap race.

Russell, on the FMF KTM, took the checkered flag 16 seconds ahead of Baylor.

“It was one of those races where it seemed like nothing was going right for me and I’ve got to get that sorted out,” Russell said of the early stages of the race.

Baylor lost his momentum and eventual lead after he crashed just past the halfway point of the race, which gave Russell the chance to catch and pass the Tely Energy KTM rider, Baylor.

Third in the race went to Thad Duvall (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) who battled with Russell for a while early in the race before Russell got away.

XC2 Pro-class winner Benjamin Kelley (Jesters KTM) was fourth overall, followed by XC2 runner-up Josh Toth (FMF KTM).

Trevor Bollinger (JCR Honda) was sixth overall and Lyne Michael (Husqvarna) was seventh overall. Australia’s Pascal Rauchenecker (Coastal Racing Husqvarna/XC2), Josh Strang (Husqvarna) and Craig Delong (Husqvarna/XC2) rounded out the top 10 overall.

Jesse Ansley (KTM) beat Jason Raines (Raines Racing Yamaha) by a couple of minutes to win the FMF XC3 125cc Pro-Am class in 18th overall.

In the morning race, Tayla Jones (Husqvarna) came away with the win in the WXC class, followed by Becca Sheets (KTM) and Rachel Gutish (Beta)

Russell Wins Palatka Wild Boar GNCC

  1. Kailub Russell (KTM)
  2. Steward Baylor (KTM)
  3. Thad DuVall (Hus)
  4. Ben Kelley (KTM)
  5. Josh Toth (KTM)
  6. Trevor Bollinger (Hon)
  7. Layne Michael (Hus)
  8. Pascal Rauchenecker (Hus)
  9. Josh Strang (Hus)
  10. Craig DeLong (Hus)

Click here for complete results.

Click here for more off-road racing news and results.

Russell Wins Palatka Wild Boar GNCC