2018 Australian WorldSSP Superpole Results

Gordon Ritchie | February 23, 2018

2018 Australian WorldSSP Superpole Results—After a controversial period running up to the WorldSSP Superpole qualifying sessions, in which Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) crashed out fast and hard in the morning’s free practice, Superpole 2 got underway with a full complement in 12 riders.

Mahias saved a few near crashes to go top in Superpole.

2018 Australian WorldSSP Superpole Results

Lucas Mahias (GRT Yamaha Official WorldSSP Team) pushed best in the grey SP2 session, held on dry asphalt, with a lap of 1:33.160 giving him only his second career Superpole.

“For sure it is a great start,” said Mahias. “Today it is very difficult in the wind and it was a different direction from the tests. In reality, I am not really confident because I saved maybe three or four crashes, but I finished on pole, which is a great start to the season.”

Mahias’ teammate, Federico Caricasulo, was second and, even after his big pre-Superpole crash, Sofuoglu was third quickest for a front row starting position.

New-boy Sandro Cortese (Kallio Racing Yamaha) placed fourth and local rider Anthony West (EAB antwest Racing Kawasaki) a popular fifth. British rider Luke Stapleford (Profile Racing Triumph), was sixth.

Randy Krummenacher (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Yamaha) went seventh and top MV rider proved to be Raffaele De Rosa (MV Agusta Reparto Corse by Vamag) in eighth. A big slide from the rear while on for a front row time stopped Jules Cluzel (NRT Yamaha) finishing higher than ninth.

Ayrton Badovini (MV Agusta Reparto Corse by Vamag) and Hikari Okubo (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) made it into WorldSSP Superpole 2 after qualifying best in SP1, with Badovini finally tenth, Kyle Smith 11th and Okubo 12th.

Gordon Ritchie | World Superbike Editor You may not understand Ritchie and his Scottish accent if you had him on the phone, but you can definitely understand what he writes as our World Superbike editor.