2017 Las Vegas WORCS Race Results

Cycle News Staff | April 3, 2017

2017 Las Vegas WORCS Race Results – Gary Sutherlin captured his second win of the year in the 2017 WORCS Championship in Las Vegas, Nevada, April 1. The Purvines Racing/DA8 Yamaha rider grabbed the early lead and never looked back, taking the checkered flag about 30 seconds ahead of runner-up Ty Tremaine, on the RPM KTM. About another 30 seconds back finished Robby Bell, on the Rocky Mountain MC-ATV/Precision Concepts Kawasaki.

2017 Las Vegas WORCS Race Results

2017 Las Vegas WORCS Race Results
Gary Sutherlin tackles one of the technical sections inside The Orleans Arena. Photography by Harlen Foley

Justin Seeds (Kawasaki) and Eric Yorba (KTM) rounded out the top five.

The race was unique for the WORCS Championship in that it was held at night on the The Orleans Hotel & Casino parking lot and inside The Orleans Arena. The all man-made track produced lap times just under two minutes in what ended up being a 44-plus-minute race.

Sutherlin has yet to finish worse than second in the five races held so far and continues to lead the championship. He extended it to 24 points over the defending champ Bell, 116-92. Seeds is currently third with 90 points, and Travis Damon is fourth with 77.

In the Pro2 class, Dante Oliveira returned to the top step of the podium. Like Sutherlin, he has not placed further back than second all season. Kyle Mersier was second and Dylan Wallsmith was third.

Oliveira leads Alex Dorsey by 21 points in the championship.

Dorsey was fifth in Vegas.

In Pro 2 Lites, Cooper Abbott recorded his second win of the season, followed by Clayton Hengeveld and Alex Morgan.

Hengeveld, however, still sits on top of the leaderboard with 111 points, followed by Austin Serpa and Abbott who are tied for second with 106 points each. Serpa finished fifth in Vegas.

The race marked the return of 10-time desert racing champ Destry Abbott who had been sidelined ever since being diagnosed with Leukemia. Abbott won the 30-Plus class. CN

2017 Las Vegas WORCS Race Results

2017 WORCS Championship

The Orleans Arena

Las Vegas, Nevada

RESULTS: April 1, 2017


  1. Gary Sutherlin (Yam)
  2. Ty Tremaine (KTM)
  3. Robby Bell (Kaw)
  4. Justin Seeds (Kaw)
  5. Eric Yorba (KTM)


  1. Dante Oliveira (KTM)
  2. Kyle Mercier (KTM)
  3. Dylan Wallsmith (Kaw)
  4. Zane Roberts (Kaw)
  5. Alex Dorsey (KTM)

1. Cooper Abbott (Yam)

  1. Clayton Hengeveld (Kaw)
  2. Alex Morgan (Hon)
  3. Chance Fullerton (KTM)
  4. Austin Serpa (KTM)

Click here for complete results.