2017 Sumter National Enduro Results

Cycle News Staff | February 6, 2017

2017 Sumter National Enduro Results – The opening round of the 2017 Kenda AMA National Enduro Series, presented by Moose Racing, was a nail-biter right down to the finish and was decided by just one second! Steward Baylor (SRT Racing/KTM) nipped former enduro champ Kailub Russell (FMF/KTM Factory Off-Road) at the end of the Sumter National Enduro in Sumter, South Carolina, February 5, despite falling in the last section and losing approximately 20 seconds. Luckily for him, he had built up just enough of a cushion to hold on for the win.

2017 Sumter National Enduro Results

2017 Sumter National Enduro Results
Steward Baylor squeaked out the win at the AMA National Enduro opener in South Carolina. PHOTOGRAPHY BY SHAN MOORE

“Over 60 miles of racing and then for it to come down to one second is pretty gnarly,” said Baylor.

Thad DuVall (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Off-road Racing) completed the Sumter podium.

Defending champion Russell Bobbitt (FMF/KTM) just missed out finishing on the podium, and Andrew DeLong was fifth (Airgroup Racing/Enduro Engineering Husqvarna Racing).

Sixth went to Trevor Bollinger (JCR Honda), followed by Cory Buttrick (SRT/KTM), Grant Baylor (KR4 Arriv-n-Ride Husqvarna), Jesse Groemm (Solid Performance KTM) and Josh Toth (N-FAB/Am Pro Yamaha), who rounded out the top 10 overall.

Thorn Devlin (Airgroup Racing/Enduro Engineering Husqvarna Racing) topped the Rekluse/Expert AA division, and Australia Tyla Jones won the Women’s Elite class.

2017 Sumter National Enduro Results


  1. Steward Baylor (KTM)
  2. Kailub Russell (KTM)
  3. Thad DuVall (Hsq)
  4. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)
  5. Andrew DeLong (Hsq)
  6. Trevor Bollinger (Hon)
  7. Cory Buttrick (KTM)
  8. Grant Baylor (Hsq)
  9. Jesse Groemm (KTM)
  10. Josh Toth (Yam)


Click here for complete results