2017 AMA National Hare & Hound Results New Mexico

Cycle News Staff | February 13, 2017

2017 AMA National Hare & Hound Results New Mexico – Gary Sutherlin, on the Purvines DA8 Yamaha, claimed the overall victory at the second round of the Kenda/SRT AMA Hare & Hound National Championship, which was held in Alamogordo, New Mexico, February 11-12, at the Red Sands Off-Highway Vehicle Area, and hosted by the Prairie Dawg Motorcycle Club.

2017 AMA National Hare & Hound Results New Mexico

2017 AMA National Hare & Hound Results New Mexico
Gary Sutherlin (324) won the second round of the AMA National H&H Series in New Mexico. Photography by Mark Kariya

Sutherlin was fast off the start but not quite as fast as Ryan Smith (SRT/Rick’s Custom Shutter & Blinds/O’Neal YZ450FX) and Beta’s Joe Wasson. Smith took the early lead but lost it to Wasson moments later.

Unfortunately for Wasson, he suddenly went down and suffered a compound fracture of his arm and a dislocated wrist and had to be flown to a nearby hospital.

Shortly after that Sutherlin took control of the race, but defending champ Ricky Brabec (Johnny Campbell Racing Honda) and Jacob Argubright (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing Off-Road Team) were coming up through the field after both riders got off to bad starts.

Brabec eventually got into seconds but just couldn’t catch the flying Sutherlin, who maintained about a 20-30-second lead over the Honda rider for much of the race before opening up a comfortable gap at the end.

After three loops, Sutherlin ended up crossing the finish line just under two minutes ahead of Brabec, followed by Argubright, who played catch-up all race long. He took the checkers about three minutes behind Brabec.

Justin Morgan (Rocky Mountain ATV-MC/Precision Concepts/Maxxis/Honda) finished fourth approximately a minute and a half behind Argubright, while 13 seconds in back of Morgan finished Axel Pearson (Purvine Racing/DA8 Training/Yamaha).

Nick Burson (Yamaha), Cody Schafer (Kawasaki), Travis Porter , Nick Garvin (Honda) and Smith completed the top 10 overall.

Tyler Lynn (Chidester Transport Racing Yamaha) won the FMF Pro 250 class over Braydon Bland (KTM) and Nick Tolman (KTM).

Britney Gallegos (KTM) won the Women’s A class over Kacy Martinez (KTM) and Stephanie Woolslayer (Yamaha).

2017 AMA National Hare & Hound Results New Mexico

Alamogordo, New Mexico

RESULTS: February 11-12, 2017


  1. Gary Sutherlin (Yam)
  2. Ricky Brabec (Hon)
  3. Jacob Argubright (Hus)
  4. Justin Morgan (Hon)
  5. Axel Pearson (Yam)

Click here for complete results.