Josh Hayes Adds Superbike Shootout Championship To Resume

Andrea Wilson | May 25, 2014
Josh Hayes takes Superbike Shootout Pro Superbike crown and race win in Utah. Photography By Brian J Nelson.


TOOELE, UTAH, MAY 25 – The Superbike Shootout series finale at Miller Motorsports Park was expected to be a battle between Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Cameron Beaubier and Josh Hayes (especially with the Yoshimura team’s absence). And it was. Only this time around Hayes would end up on top of the podium and Beaubier would end up on the ground.

Hayes led early, but Beaubier would take the lead in the last corner of the first lap. And he would keep it. That is until the halfway point when Beaubier crashed out of the lead with a healthy gap on his teammate – an error that cost Beaubier the win and the number one plate.

But Beaubier wasn’t the only one to make an error. In fact the rookie was joined by many, including the only other rider challenging Hayes – KTM HMC Racing’s Chris Fillmore.

Fillmore was right there in the mix from the start, behind the Yamaha lead duo. And after Beaubier started to gap Hayes, it was Fillmore right on the heels of the three-time AMA Superbike Champion. But Fillmore’s podium hopes ended with a low-side in turn six. Fillmore was able to rejoin the race and worked his way back up to fifth.

It was also a crash that would end the race, not the checkered flag. The race was red-flagged with three laps to go due to a high side by Ryan Brand that left his BMW in the middle of the track for over a lap.

ADR Motorsport’s David Anthony ran a pretty lonely race, but brought his Suzuki home to a second-place finish. Also running a lonely race and completing the podium was Geico Honda’s Chris Ulrich.

In fourth was privateer Marcel Irnie on a BMW.

Two-time Utah Sportbike Association (USBA) champ Oleg Pianykh finished sixth and Butler Maps owner Michael Bradshaw finished seventh.

In eighth was 17-year-old privateer Daytona Anderson on a Suzuki, followed by Johnny Rock Page. Rounding out the top-10 was privateer Matthew Orange on a BMW.

2014 Superbike Shootout

Miller Motorsports Park

Pro Superbike Results

1. Josh Hayes (Yamaha)

2. David Anthony (Suzuki)

3. Chris Ulrich (Honda)

4. Marcel Irnie (BMW)

5. Chris Fillmore (KTM)

6. Oleg Pianykh (Suzuki)

7. Michael Bradshaw (BMW)

8. Daytona Anderson (Suzuki)

9. Johnny Rock Page (Suzuki)

10. Matthew Orange (BMW)

Provisional Championship Point Standings:

1. Josh Hayes (61)

2. Cameron Beaubier (47)

3. David Anthony (44)

4. Martin Cardenas (41)

5. Chris Fillmore (31)

6. Chris Ulrich (30)

7. Roger Hayden (24)

8. Marcel Irnie (19)

9. Daytona Anderson (18)

10. Chris Clark (17)




Andrea Wilson | Associate Editor / Website Coordinator

Andrea has been shooting everything from flat track to road racing in her job as a professional freelance photographer, but she's made the move to a full-time staff position at Cycle News where her love of all things motorcycling will translate well. Wilson has proven her worth as more than a photographer as she migrates to the written word with everything from race coverage to interviews.