2020 Flattrack FITE Klub 1 Results

Cycle News Staff | June 10, 2020

After the successful Moto FITE Klub pay per view event in May, plans were quickly put into place to create the Flattrack FITE Klub. They rounded up some of the current stars of American Flat Track to race against some of the legends. Jared Mees, Bryan Smith, Sammy Halbert, Ryan Sipes, Scott Parker, Jay Springsteen, Joe Kopp and Chris Carr faced off in several rounds of match races on vintage Bultaco 2-stroke motorcycles. The event took place in Pennsylvania and will also benefit the Rookies Class of 79 charity with a lot of memorabilia being auctioned off.

2020 Flattrack FITE Klub 1 Bikes - Willy Browning Photo
The riders competed on evenly matched 2-stroke Bultaco motorcycles. Photography by Willy Browning

Round One

Chris Carr won two out of three races against Scott Parker in their match race. Jared Mees won two straight races to end Sammy Halbert’s night after round one.  Joe Kopp beat out Jay Springsteen to move through to the next round. Bryan Smith had to go three rounds to eliminate Ryan Sipes.

2020 Flattrack FITE Klub 1 Scott Parker Action - Willy Browning Photo
Scott Parker is a nine-time AMA Grand National Champion and all-time race win leader with 94 wins. He still rides flat track well at 58 years old. Photography by Willy Browning
2020 Flattrack FITE Klub 1 Jay Springsteen Action - Willy Browning Photo
Jay Springsteen, who is 63 years old competed against the young guns. Photography by Willy Browning

Round Two

Carr lost the first race against Kopp in round two but came back to win the next two and move on to the main event. Mees took race one and three against Smith to earn a spot in the final against Carr.

Smith beat out Kopp to take the third position.

2020 Flattrack FITE Klub 1 Bryan Smith Action - Willy Browning Photo
Bryan Smith managed to beat Joe Kopp to finish on the podium. Photography by Willy Browning

Final Round

Carr beat Mees in the first of three races in the final matchup. Mees bike had some issues while they were battling for the lead, so he had to switch bikes for the second race. Despite a new bike, Mees won the second and third race to take the inaugural Flattrack FITE Klub belt.

2020 Flattrack FITE Klub 1 Chris Carr Action - Willy Browning Photo
Despite being one of the retired racers at the Flattrack FITE Klub event, Chris Carr made it to the final and gave Mees a run for his money. Photography by Willy Browning
2020 Flattrack FITE Klub 1 Jared Mees Action - Willy Browning Photo
Mees was the favorite to win but had some hard-fought battles to get it done and take belt at the inaugural Flattrack Fite KLUB event. Photography by Willy Browning
2020 Flattrack FITE Klub 1 Final Race Screen Shot
Carr beat Mees in the first race in the three-race run-off final but Mees came back to win races two and three. Despite relatively “low-budget” production quality, the Flattrack FITE Klub Pay-Per-View show is pretty entertaining with over two hours of racing action.

If you missed the original show, it is still available on FITE TV for $19.99. You get two hours and twenty minutes of entertaining flat track racing. Get the show here.

2020 Flattrack FITE Klub 1 Results

  1. Jared Mees
  2. Chris Carr
  3. Bryan Smith
  4. Joe Kopp

Support Races

Halbert got a little revenge on the group by winning the Scott Parker challenge race by taking the win over Smith, Mees, Sipes and Parker. This was an opportunity for all of the current flat track racers to face off against the all-time flat track race win leader.

Fifteen-year-old Kody Kopp, the son of Joe Kopp, outdueled Willy Browning, Trevor Vines and Dan Gidian to win the Sunday Motors mini flat tracker event.

Get all the latest Flat Track racing news and results here.