Pala Motocross Results 2019

Cycle News Staff | May 25, 2019

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac is back to his old tricks again. Last year, there were quite a few races where Tomac would come on strong in the last half of the race and take the win after passing his way through the leaders, but in moto one at the Hangtown opener a week ago, he didn’t have that late-race charge and actually went backward, finishing fourth in the moto. But today at Pala, Tomac returned to his vintage form, coming through from behind to win both motos and extend his moto-win streak to three.

In the 250cc class, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Adam Cianciarulo had to fight for his second win in a row, going 3-1 for the overall at Fox Raceway in Pala, California.

2019 Pala (Fox Raceway) Video Highlights


Tomac Wins Pala MX 2019

Pala Motocross Results 2019
Eli Tomac (1) leads Marvin Musquin (25) at Fox Raceway in Pala, California. Tomac went 1-1 on the day for the overall. Musuqin was second overall with a 3-2 score. PHOTOGRAPHY BY STEVE COX

Rocky Mountain ATV/MC KTM’s Blake Baggett got the start in the first 450cc moto, but Honda’s top qualifier, Ken Roczen, took the lead away immediately and began to pull away. Baggett fell a couple laps later, and Tomac ended up hanging around in about fifth place for the first half of the race and didn’t seem to be making up much ground. But then, all of a sudden, Tomac caught fire, passed Red Bull KTM’s Cooper Webb for fourth, then struggled for the next six laps to get by Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson. But once by Anderson for third, he immediately caught the lead battle that had developed between Webb’s teammate Marvin Musquin and Roczen, then made short work of them with three laps left to go in the race to take the lead and take off, winning the moto by almost four seconds in front of Roczen and Musquin, with Anderson taking fourth and Anderson’s teammate Zach Osborne getting by Webb for fifth.

Roczen Satisfied With Pala MX Results

Pala Motocross Results 2019
Ken Roczen rode strong at the Pala MX National but could only muster third overall, which he said he was satisfied with, under the circumstances. PHOTOGRAPHY BY STEVE COX

In the second moto, Musquin got the start, but he had Tomac all over him right away. But Tomac spent half of the moto searching for a way around the Frenchman before he finally made a pass stick. From there, he ran away with it, winning the moto by 11 seconds over Musquin, Roczen, Osborne, Anderson and Webb.

Tomac Leads The Points After Pala MX

Pala Motocross Results 2019
Tomac got the red plate back after the Pala MX National and will have it on his bike next weekend in his home state of Colorado. PHOTOGRAPHY BY STEVE COX

Tomac has now won three motos in a row and took over the points lead. He has four points on Roczen as the series heads to Tomac’s home state of Colorado for the Lakewood National this coming Saturday.

Cianciarulo Wins Second Straight At Pala

Pala Motocross Results 2019
Adam Cianciarulo won his second 250cc National in a row and leads the points as the series heads to round three. PHOTOGRAPHY BY STEVE COX

Monster Energy/Yamalube/Star Racing Yamaha’s Justin Cooper got the holeshot to start moto one for the second week in a row. He was the top qualifier on the day and he had to fight off advances throughout the moto from his teammate Colt Nichols, but he hung on to win, but not over Nichols. Instead, with two laps to go, both GEICO Honda’s RJ Hampshire and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Adam Cianciarulo were able to get by him, and they finished second and third, respectively. Nichols was fourth in front of Hampshire’s teammates Chase Sexton and Christian Craig, and then Cooper’s teammate Dylan Ferrandis, who came through the pack from an opening-lap fall for seventh.

Cooper Frustrated With Second at Pala MX

Pala Motocross Results 2019
Justin Cooper went 1-4 for second overall and expressed frustration after the race. He expects to win his first-ever MX National overall soon. PHOTOGRAPHY BY STEVE COX

In the second moto, the gate flinched prior to the start and a bunch of the 250cc racers hit the gate, but despite the expectation that the race would be restarted, the AMA concluded that the gate didn’t flinch and the race continued on. TLD/Red Bull KTM’s Shane McElrath led early, but he gave way to Cianciarulo on lap three. Cianciarulo soon had to deal with GEICO Honda’s Hunter Lawrence, who hounded Cianciarulo until passing the points leader with a handful of laps remaining. But Lawrence went down soon thereafter, giving the lead back to Cianciarulo, and although Lawrence came back to challenge Cianciarulo in the final laps, Cianciarulo took the win over Lawrence, Ferrandis and Cooper.

Cianciarulo took the moto and overall wins with a 3-1 and now leads the points by six over Cooper as the series heads to Colorado.

Pala Motocross Results 2019

Pala Motocross Results 2019

Pala Motocross Results 2019

Pala Motocross Results 2019

For more of the latest motocross and supercross news and information, click here.

Ken Roczen is riding the wave of momentum from his overall victory at the opening round of the 2019 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship last week by topping 450MX round two qualifying at the Pala Motocross National at Fox Raceway in Pala, California, May 25.

Roczen Tops Pala Motocross 450MX-Class Qualifying

Pala Motocross Results 2019
Ken Roczen tops 450MX qualifying at Fox Raceway. Photos: Kit Palmer

Roczen (Honda HRC) saved his best for last by logging the morning’s quickest 450MX lap time with a 2:07.107, edging out Eli Tomac’s 2:07.389 in the second session. Tomac (Monster Energy Kawasaki) was quickest in the opening qualifiers, but both he and Roczen picked up the pace in Q2. They are the only riders to make it into the .07s in the 450MX class.

The first rider in the .08s is Jason Anderson (Rockstar Husqvarna) with a 2:08.386. He’s closely followed by a trio of KTM riders: Marvin Musquin, Blake Baggett and Cooper Webb.

Zach Osborne, Justin Hill, Cole Seely and Fredrik Noren fill out the top 10.

Cooper Quickest In 250MX Pala Qualifying

Pala Motocross Results 2019
Justin Cooper is flying in the 250MX class.

In the 250MX class, Justin Cooper (Yamaha) is on fire. He heads the entire field. Cooper has the quickest time of all with a 2:06.917. He recorded that blazing time in Q2.

Adam Cianciarulo is next best in the 250MX class with a 2:08.412, followed by Colt Nichols (2:08.600) and Chase Sexton (2:08.916).

Australian Hunter Lawrence (Honda) rounds out the top five with a 2:08.966.

There was a great battle in the 125cc All-Star race. Many were expecting Ryan Villopoto to run away with it again like he did last week at Hangtown, but this time he had company. KTM rider Joshua Varize would not let Villopoto, who nabbed the holeshot, get away. Instead, Varize latched on to Villopoto’s rear fender. Varize challenged Villopoto and actually passed the former national champion at the halfway point.

As the two pulled away from the rest of the field, Varize and Villopoto had the crowd’s attention as they battled for the win. Varize ended up holding Villopoto off for the win.

Varize Holds Off Villopoto For 125cc All-Stars Win

Pala Motocross 125cc All-Stars Results 2019
Young KTM rider Joshua Varize (24) passed and held off Ryan Villopoto (2) for the win in the 125cc All-Stars race.

This is the first time the outdoor national championship has visited Fox Raceway since 2011, and the riders have been welcomed with ideal racing conditions. The morning started out sunny, but high clouds have taken over, providing shade and cool temperatures, keeping the track moist and tacky.

Pala Motocross 450MX Qualifying Results 2019

Pala Motocross Results 2019

Pala Motocross 250MX Qualifying Results 2019

Pala Motocross Results 2019

Click here for all the latest Supercross and motocross news.