2019 Arizona Off-Road State Championship WHS Results

Mark Kariya | February 19, 2019

Beta’s Max Gerston worked hard for what could be the biggest payday of the season, winning the Field Craft Survival Rough Rider 100, the 2019 Arizona Off-Road State Championship WHS, and its $5000 winner’s prize after more than two and a half hours of back-and-forth battling with eventual runner-up Ricky Dietrich, third-place Joe Wasson and several others.

2019 Arizona Off-Road State Championship WHS Results
Max Gerston won the second round of the AMA West Hare Scrambles Series in Prescott, Arizona. Photo: Mark Kariya

In addition, Gerston’s first series triumph since round one last year put him into the points lead of the Kenda/SRT AMA West Hare Scrambles Regional Championship Series, Presented by Mojo Motorsport.com, over teammate Wasson, 55-51. Devin Bolin, eighth at the Rough Rider, is third with 28 points.

One of the early leaders, Slam Life Racing (SLR) Honda’s Dietrich enjoyed his runner-up ride aboard his Monster Energy/Lava Propane/Fly Racing-sponsored CRF450RX, finishing 28 seconds behind Gerston’s winning two hours, 39 minutes and 37 seconds.

Gerston’s sternest challenger in the last half of the race turned out to be his Beta teammate Wasson. Better known for his hare & hound prowess, the round-one winner and his Motul/Twin Air/Scott-backed 430 RR enjoyed quite the battle in the chilly conditions reminiscent of his Idaho roots.

Beta support rider Mason Ottersberg finished fourth after a painful crash followed by Ride Shop Sherco rider Nickolas Brawner, Gas Gas-mounted Clayton Gerstner, AZ Dirt Bike Training KTM’s Ryan Wells, Gray Area KTM’s Bolin, Off-road Support Kawasaki rider Jacob Argubright and Pro II winner Zane Roberts rounded out the top 10 overall. Beta’s Roberts picked up an additional $250 for 10th as well as the $500 for winning Pro II, making it a very successful weekend for the Beta brigade.

2019 Arizona Off-Road State Championship WHS

Prescott, Arizona

RESULTS: February 17, 2019

1. Max Gerston (Beta)
2. Ricky Dietrich (Hon)
3. Joe Wasson (Beta)
4. Mason Ottersberg (Beta)
5. Nickolas Brawner (She)
6. Clayton Gerstner (GG)
7. Ryan Wells (KTM)
8. Devin Bolin (KTM)
9. Jacob Argubright (Kaw)
10. Zane Roberts (Beta)

Click here for complete results.

Click here for all the latest off-road racing news.



Mark Kariya | Contributor Kariya spends way too much time in the desert, but we’re glad he does as he’s the man who gets us our coverage of all things sandy.