2018 Atacama Rally Results

Cycle News Staff | August 18, 2018

Kevin Benavides of the Monster Energy Honda Team on the final stage and the overall win in Chile at the Atacama Rally 2018. Benavides won three of the five stages, pretty much dominating the race.

Kevin Benavides wins the 2018 Atacama Rally.
Honda’s Kevin Benavides celebrates the victory at the Atacama Rally 2018 in Chile.

Benavides finished four minutes and 25 seconds ahead of the next-best rider, Red Bull KTM’s Tody Price. Pablo Quintanilla (Husqvarna Factory Rall Team) finished another two-plus seconds behind in third.

Matthias Walkner (Red Bull KTM) and Franco Caimi (Yamalube Yamaha) rounded out the top five overall.

American Ricky Brabec (Monster Energy Honda) was ninth overall, finish a little over an hour behind the winner and his teammate Benavidas. Fellow American Andrew Short (Husqvarna Factory) completed the top 10 overall.

Ricky Brabec finishes ninth at the Atacama Rally.
American Ricky Brabec en-route to a ninth overall finish at the Atacama Rally.

“I’m very happy; it has been an amazing Atacama Rally for me,” said Benavides. “I won three stages and I felt very comfortable on the bike, which has worked perfectly throughout the even. The team has worked very well and this has given me the tools needed for the victory. I was able to stay very focused and was confident in myself. Winning here is not easy – Quintanilla is very strong. I’ve been looking forward to this victory for a long time and I’m really savoring it!”

Brabec said he is glad to get to see the checkered flag. “I’m happy to have finished the race in one piece and am already looking forward to the next one already,” Brabec said. “It has a great all-round team effort and everyone continues to improve as we work towards our final goal—the Dakar. Everyone has worked really hard and the bike has really been the star. Big congratulations to our teammate Benavides who rode really well throughout the whole rally.”


Rider Standings

Final Standings Atacama Rally 2018

Pos. Rider Num Nation Team Time/Gap
1 Benavides Kevin 2 ARG Monster Energy Honda Team 14:19’39
2 Price Toby 11 AUS Red Bull KTM Rally Factory Team +4’25
3 Quintanilla Pablo 1 CHI Husqvarna Factory Rally Team +6’27
4 Walkner Matthias 3 AUT Red Bull KTM Rally Factory Team +10’21
5 Caimi Franco 8 ARG Yamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team +22’47
6 Goncalves Paulo 4 POR Monster Energy Honda Team +23’32
7 Cornejo José Ignacio 10 CHI Monster Energy Honda Team +39’07
8 Van Beveren Adrien 6 FRA Yamalube Yamaha Official Rally Team +41’39
9 Brabec Ricky 15 USA Monster Energy Honda Team +1:01’32
10 Short Andrew 12 USA Husqvarna Factory Rally Team +1:03’49

Click here for all the latest Rally racing news.