Throwback Thursday: Sonoma 600 Supersport Swarm

Larry Lawrence | January 18, 2018
1996 AMA Pro Honda Oils 600 Supersport Series at Sears Point (Sonoma) Raceway
Henny Ray Abrams photo

In this week’s Throwback we go back 22 years to the year 1996. A big field of riders charge through the first turn at the start of that year’s AMA Pro Honda Oils 600 Supersport Series race at what was then called Sears Point Raceway (now Sonoma Raceway). Leading the way is Miguel Duhamel (1) who would go on to clinch the series title that day. Coming up on the inside is Thomas Stevens (2). Stevens would go on to win the race aboard his Kinko’s Kawasaki ZX-6R.

It was a significant victory for Stevens since he’d finished runner up four times that year before finally earning this win. It also marked an end to a four-year drought for Stevens, who’d last won a national in 1992. Duhamel took a conservative approach to the race to ensure his championship, yet he still was able to finish second. Jason Pridmore (7) rounded out the podium finishers on another Kinko’s Kawasaki.

Others shown in the Henny Ray Abrams photo are Gerald Rothman Jr. (5), Matt Wait (195), Mike Smith (68), Andrew Stroud (130), Steve Crevier (4), Erik Schnackenberg (24), Doug Toland (30), Jamie Bowman (21), Thomas Montano (40), Mark Foster (36), Matthew Guidera (25), Christopher Rankin (72) and more.

You can read about this race and many more by subscribing to the Cycle News Archives at:'

Larry Lawrence | Archives Editor In addition to writing our Archives section on a weekly basis, Lawrence is another who is capable of covering any event we throw his way.