Superbike Shootout: Cameron Beaubier Gets His First Superbike Pole At Sonoma

Andrea Wilson | May 3, 2014
Cameron Beaubier gets his first Superbike pole of his career at Sonoma Raceway for the second round of the Superbike Shootout. Photography By Brian J Nelson

SONOMA, CA, MAY 3 – Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Cameron Beaubier scored his first Superbike pole of his career today at Sonoma Raceway for the second round of the Superbike Shootout. The rookie was happy to be back at his home track and healthier than he was the last time outing a couple years ago – racing AMA Pro Road Racing’s Daytona Sportbike class with a healing broken knee cap.

“It feels great all of my family’s coming out tomorrow to watch me and support me and some friends… I’m really excited to race here in Sonoma in front of them,” Beaubier said. “It feels great to getting my first pole on a Superbike. Last time I was here was two years ago and I had a bum knee. So was just trying to get through the weekend and this weekend I actually get to enjoy it.”

Behind Beaubier was two first-time first time front row Superbike qualifiers – ADR Motorsport’s David Anthony and KTM HMC Racing’s Chris Fillmore. Both Anthony and Fillmore feel quite at home at what they consider to be one of their favorite tracks and were knocked back towards the end of the session by Beaubier.

Leading the second row was Josh Hayes in fourth, trailing his teammate Beaubier by 1.509 seconds. Following Hayes was a pair of Yoshimura Suzukis – Martin Cardenas and Roger Hayden.

Making his debut in Superbike, Petaluma native Tyler O’Hara qualified seventh on the Meen Motorsports Yamaha. The third man on the Yoshimura squad, Chris Clark, ended the day in eighth. And rounding out the top ten was Geico Honda’s Chris Ulrich and privateer Matthew Orange on a BMW.

2014 Superbike Shootout

Sonoma Raceway

Pro Superbike Qualifying Results

1. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha) 1:36.156

2. David Anthony (Suzuki) 1:36.822

3. Chris Fillmore (KTM) 1:36.980

4. Josh Hayes (Yamaha) 1:37.665

5. Martin Cardenas (Suzuki) 1:38.287

6. Roger Hayden (Suzuki) 1:38.332

7. Tyler O’Hara (Yamaha) 1:39.650

8. Chris Clark (Suzuki) 1:39.840

9. Chris Ulrich (Honda) 1:40.586

10. Matthew Orange (BMW) 1:40.731


Andrea Wilson | Associate Editor / Website Coordinator

Andrea has been shooting everything from flat track to road racing in her job as a professional freelance photographer, but she's made the move to a full-time staff position at Cycle News where her love of all things motorcycling will translate well. Wilson has proven her worth as more than a photographer as she migrates to the written word with everything from race coverage to interviews.