Aubert ISDE Leader at Halfway Mark

| November 3, 2010

The 2010 FIM International Six Day Enduro (ISDE) reached the mid-way stage, as the riders tackled day three of this epic ‘six day’ adventure. The new day brought with it a new route – one that contained nine special tests, which will also be utilised again on day four. Despite the new course the third day proved to be anything but easy with competitors’ bodies, and bikes, starting to feel the strain. Heavy cloud cover for much of the day brought the lowest temperatures of the week thus far, however this did little to reduce the dust.

With the event’s fastest individual performer among their ranks France continued to set the pace at the top of the Trophy Team competition, with Johnny Aubert (KTM) leading the squad. With the third day bringing a new starting order, France’s three top riders – Aubert, Antoine Meo (Husqvarna) and Seb Guillaume (Husqvarna) – were the first competitors onto each of the day’s special tests. Helped by Rodrig Thain (TM) and Christophe Nambotin (Gas Gas) the French squad finished one-minute clear of second place Italy. Finland placed third with the USA fourth.

France remains at the top of the overall Trophy Team standings, now close to five-and-a-half minutes up on Italy. Finland sits third, close to nine minutes adrift of France.

Spain’s youngsters continue to lead the Junior Trophy category as their four-rider squad claimed their second day win. Placing a little over one-minute ahead of day three runners up Sweden, just eight seconds separated Sweden from third placed France. In the overall Junior Trophy standings Spain have extended their lead to close to three minutes over Sweden followed by France, Finland and the USA.

The third day of the ISDE proved to be a tough one for the women competitors. France was the only nation to get all three of their riders to the finish, and deservedly topped the class. The USA, who placed second, and Sweden, who placed third, both had two riders finish. Ludivine Puy (Gas Gas) delivered the fastest individual women’s performance, ahead of Blandine Dufrene (Gas Gas) and USA rider Amanda Mastin (Yamaha).

Antoine Meo ended day three as the fastest E1 class rider, finishing ahead of Finland’s Eero Remes (KTM) and Italy’s Alex Salvini (Husqvarna). Team USA rider Kurt Caselli (KTM) placed fourth, but was unable to keep pace with the leading trio. In the overall E1 standings Meo continues to lead with Remes thirteen seconds behind in second while Salvini sits third.

As the event’s overall fastest performer Johnny Aubert claimed a commanding win in the E2 class, finishing fifty-four seconds ahead of ISDE rookie Manuel Monni (Yamaha). Third went to Finland’s Juha Salminen (Husqvarna) with Poland’s Michal Szuster (Yamaha) claiming an impressive fourth place result. Johnny Aubert now sits more than three minutes clear in the overall E2 standings with Italy’s Monni and Thomas Oldrati (KTM) three minutes adrift, but separated by just ten seconds.

Oriol Mena (Husaberg) failed to top the E3 class for the first time during the 85th ISDE as France’s Seb Guillaume beat him to the top position. Nine seconds ahead of countryman Christophe Nambotin (Gas Gas) the E3 class saw an all two-stroke top three as Italy’s Simone Albergoni (KTM) placed third. Oriol Mena, E3 class winner during days one and two, placed fifteen seconds behind Guillaume and in fifth position. Seb Guillaume now leads the E3 class fifteen seconds ahead of Mena with Christophe Nambotin third.


World Trophy

1: France 10.17:26.49

2: Italy 10.22:54.30

3: Finland10.26:23.94

4: USA 10.32:19.39

5: Poland 10.43:17.27


Junior Trophy

1: Spain 6.16:51.17

2: Sweden 6.19:48.48

3: France 6.20:56.07

4: Finland 6.21:32.81

5: USA 6.22:30.25


Women’s Cup                          

1: France 4.46:01.42

2: USA 5.00:14.87

3: Sweden 5.04:40.00

4: Germany 8.27:47.28

5: Chile 9.09:16.02

By Jake Miller