Montclair Yamaha Wins 24-Hours of Glen Helen

| September 27, 2004

The 6th Annual HYR 24-Hours of Glen Helen ran its course this weekend, and it was, once again, the Montclair Yamaha team taking the win. With Ty Davis at the helm, and with the help of teammates Nathan Woods, Ryan Dudek and Terry Fowler, the blue crew finished on top a few laps up on the Honda team, made up of Johnny Campbell, Steve Hengeveld, Mark Tilley and Robby Bell. As about the 20-hour mark approached, the Honda team was still on the same lap as the Yamaha team, but a forced stop to fix a mechanic problem put them a few laps down but still in second place.

Finishing third was the KTM team made up of Kurt Caselli, Joey Lanza, Bryce Olson and Nick Pearson.

Bob Roberts topped the Ironman class. Roberts accumulated 44 eight-mile laps, putting in a total of over 20 hours of saddle time. The winning Monclair Yamaha team racked up 79 laps, and they pretty much led the whole way after passing the KTM team a few hours into the race.

By John Bathea