Hawaiian Supercross Results 2019

Cycle News Staff | May 12, 2019

Aloha Stadium hosted the first Supercross event in Hawaii in several years and the event attracted some Monster Energy Supercross regulars. The event was pulled together in just seven weeks so it was a huge task to get the riders, bikes and track build organized. That task was carried out by Eric Peronnard, the Sports Organizer and Darryl Atkins, the marketing director. The race used a three-moto format and Ryan Sipes dominated the overall standings by winning all three motos. Sipes surprised a large group of regular 450SX racers including Justin Brayton, who finished second overall with 3-2-2 moto scores.  Tyler Bowers rounded out the podium with 4-5-4 moto results.

2019 Hawaiian Supercross Podium
Ryan Sipes (center), Justin Brayton (left) and Tyler Bowers took the top three spots at the 2019 Hawaiian Supercross. Photo: Teri Anderson.


Ryan Sipes chases Justin Brayton at the 2019 Hawaiin Supercross.
Sipes (#264) surprised many by taking the win ahead of several regular 450SX riders. That included Justin Brayton (#10). Photo: Teri Anderson.

AMA Motorcycle Hall of Famer John DeSoto, the “Flyin’ Hawaiian”, was a top motocross racer in the late 1960s and early 1970s. He raced US Nationals and also some GP’s and represented the US at the Motocross des Nations in 1973. He was part of the group that helped make the 2019 Supercross in Hawaii happen. There was a “DeSoto Cup” Motocross des Nations style race for riders from the various Hawaiian Islands called the DeSoto Cup. The home team of Oahu took the top spot. In fact, the top three riders; Donovan Canionero, Garret Lee and Bodhi Wong were all representing Oahu.

John DeSoto at the 2019 Hawaiian Supercross
John DeSoto, an AMA Hall of Famer from Hawaii helped pull together the Hawaiian Supercross. Photo: Teri Anderson.

Hawaiian Supercross Results 2019 450SX

  1. Ryan Sipes: 1-1-1
  2. Justin Brayton: 3-2-2
  3. Tyler Bowers: 4-5-4
  4. Mike Alessi: 7-4-3
  5. Austin Politelli: 2-3-12
  6. Ben LaMay: 6-9-6
  7. Josh Hill: 8-8-7
  8. Alex Ray: 11-6-8
  9. Jimmy Decotis: 5-13-11
  10. Kyle Chisholm: 13-7-5

Hawaiian Supercross Results DeSoto Cup

  1. Donovan Canionero: 1-1-1
  2. Garret Lee: 7-4-2
  3. Bodhi Wong: 5-9-3
2019 Hawaiian Supercross DeSoto Cup podium finishers.
The top three riders from the DeSoto Cup. Donovan Canionero (center), Garret Lee (right) and Bodhi Wong. Photo: Teri Anderson.


Ronnie Mac at the 2019 Hawaiian Supercross.
There was even a Ronnie Mac appearance at the Hawaiian Supercross.

You can visit the Hawaiian Supercross website here: www.hawaiiansx.com

Get all of the latest Supercross and Motocross news and results here.