2018 Imola WorldSSP Superpole Results

Rennie Scaysbrook | May 12, 2018

2018 Imola WorldSSP Superpole Results—The humidity in the air finally became light rain at the start of Superpole 2, with the session finally ending properly wet in all sectors. Lucas Mahias (GRT Yamaha Official WorldSSP Team) took pole, his third of the year, as he led home another Yamaha in the shape of the NRT R6 of Jules Cluzel.

2018 Imola WorldSSP Superpole Results

Mahia crushed the WorldSSP Superpole session to end 0.9 seconds faster than Jules Cluzel.

Mahias was ahead by almost a second, but the sensation was in seeing the retiring five times champion Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) going third fastest, despite his lack of race fitness and recent track time.

Almost two seconds back in treacherous conditions, Friday fastest man Federico Caricasulo (GRT Yamaha Official WorldSSP Team) was fourth.

Moving up into SP2 from SP1, Rob Hartog (Team Hartog Against Cancer Kawasaki) was an excellent fifth, and the first ESS rider in the pre-race rankings.

The perennially competitive Luke Stapleford (Profile Racing Triumph) was the top three-cylinder rider on the grid, in sixth place.

Local impetus and huge experience saw former World Supersport regular Massimo Roccoli (GAS Racing Team Yamaha) seventh as a wildcard, one place ahead of factory Kawasaki runner Hikari Okubo (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing).

Sandro Cortese (Kallio Racing Yamaha) was ninth, and the first MV in SP2 was that of Raffaele De Rosa (MV Agusta Reparto Corse by Vamag) in tenth place. Randy Krummenacher (BARDAHL Evan Bros. Yamaha) was 11th and Anthony West (EAB antwest Racing Kawasaki) 17th after competing in SP1.

2018 Imola WorldSSP Superpole Results


Rennie Scaysbrook | Road Test Editor Our newest member of staff is our Road Test Editor Rennie Scaysbrook. A lifetime rider, the Aussie made the trek across the Pacific to live the dream in the U.S. of A.