2017 Ironman Crawfordsville GNCC Results

Cycle News Staff | October 30, 2017

2017 Ironman Crawfordsville GNCC Results – Kailub Russell made GNCC history by becoming the sport’s all-time win leader after claiming his 47th victory at the 2017 season final in Crawfordsville, Indiana, October 29. Russell’s 47th-carrer win moved him past GNCC great Scott Summers, who was on hand to witness the historic moment.

2017 Ironman Crawfordsville GNCC Results

2017 Ironman Crawfordsville GNCC Results
(Left to right) Thad DuVall, Kailub Russell and Ricky Russell made up the Ironman podium. Photo: Ken Hill

Russell’s record-breaking victory came at the Ironman GNCC where temperatures in the low 40s made for a chilly day of racing. Russell got off to a great start, as he put himself into the lead position early on the opening lap. About four miles into lap one, Russell had a tip over that dropped him back to the second-place position for a brief time. However, it didn’t take long for the five-time champion to put himself back out front where he controlled the pace for the remainder of the three-hour race.

Russell, who had already clinched the 2017 GNCC Championship, was able to cross the finish line 18 seconds ahead of runner-up Thad DuVall.

“This was a great way to end the GNCC season—taking home my 47th career win to surpass off-road racing legend Scott Summers to take over the all-time wins record,” Russell said. “I wasn’t expecting to see Scott [Summers] at the race, but I’m very happy that he was able to be in attendance today to watch me break his winning record, as I watched him set it as a very young kid. I can’t thank everyone that’s been behind me for all these years enough for all of their support!”

Russell’s record-breaking win didn’t come easily, as he had to fight off early race leader Ricky Russell (N-Fab/AmPro Yamaha) and DuVall (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) before he could celebrate win number 47.

2017 Ironman Crawfordsville GNCC Results

DuVall, who started the race off in third and was returning to racing from an injury, picked up momentum as the race went on. The Rockstar Energy Husqvarna rider slipped past Ricky Russell for second and, at one point, near the midway mark, he trailed Kailub by less than 10 seconds. But DuVall just couldn’t quite match Russell’s pace and took the checkered flag 18.657 seconds behind the KTM rider for second place.

Ricky Russell finished a minute behind DuVall in third while holding a comfortable gap on the Husqvarna rider Grant Baylor.

Josh Strang (Husqvarna) rounded out the top five, finishing just 13 seconds behind Baylor.

JCR Honda’s Trevor Bollinger was sixth, KTM rider Steward Baylor seventh and Husqvarna rider from Austria Pascal Rauchenecker was eighth. Rauchenecker was the top-finishing XC2 rider.

Rauchenecker took the class win ahead of Josh Toth (Yamaha) by 40 seconds; Toth was ninth overall.

Tenth overall was another XC2 rider Craig Delong (Husqvarna).

Jimmy Jarrett shot off the line to earn the $100 Wiseco Holeshot Award in the FMF XC3 125 Pro-Am class, but at the conclusion of the three-hour race it was Coastal Racing/Husqvarna’s Jack Edmondson taking the win. Chris Venditti and Rocky Mountain ATV-MC/KR4/ Husqvarna Team’s Hunter Neuwirth finished second and third, respectively.

2017 Ironman Crawfordsville GNCC Results


Crawfordsville, Indiana

Round 13 of 13

RESULTS: October 29, 2017

XC1 Open Pro:

1 Kailub Russell (KTM)

  1. Thad Duvall (Hus)
  2. Ricky Russell (Yam)
  3. Grant Baylor (Hus)
  4. Josh Strang (Hus)
  5. Trevor Bollinger (Hon)
  6. Steward Baylor Jr. (KTM)
  7. Jordan Ashburn (Bet)
  8. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)
  9. Jonathan Girroir (KTM)

Overall National Championship Standings:

  1. Kailub Russell (320)
  2. Thad Duvall (227)
  3. Ricky Russell (220)
  4. Steward Baylor (207)
  5. Josh Toth (192)
  6. Grant Baylor (180)
  7. Trevor Bollinger (152)
  8. Craig Delong (141)
  9. Layne Michael (140)
  10. Josh Strang (130)

XC2 250 Pro:

  1. Pascal Rauchenecker (Hus)
  2. Josh Toth (Yam)
  3. Craig Delong (Hus)
  4. Layne Michael (Hus)
  5. Ben Kelley (KTM)
  6. Evan Smith (KTM)
  7. Austin Lee (Hon)
  8. Mike Witkowski (KTM)
  9. Ryder Lafferty (KTM)
  10. Trevor Barrett (Yam)

XC2 250 Pro Series Standings:

  1. Josh Toth (347)
  2. Craig Delong (289)
  3. Layne Michael (280)
  4. Mike Witkowski (224)
  5. Ben Kelley (193)
  6. Austin Lee (182)
  7. Jesse Groemm (164)
  8. Zack Hayes (138)
  9. Sam Evans (122)
  10. Zach Nolan (112)

FMF XC3 125 Pro-Am:

  1. Jack Edmondson (Hus)
  2. Chris Venditti (Yam)
  3. Hunter Neuwirth (Hus)
  4. Matthew Sims (Yam)
  5. Tayla Jones (Hus)
  6. Luke Renzland (Yam)
  7. Mark Heresco Jr. (KTM)
  8. Kenny Day (Yam)
  9. Jaryn Williams (Yam)
  10. Josh Brehm (Yam)

FMF XC3 125 Pro-Am Points Standings:

  1. Jason Thomas (292)
  2. Hunter Neuwirth (253)
  3. Jack Edmondson (238)
  4. Mark Heresco Jr. (233)
  5. Jaryn Williams (162)
  6. Josh Adkins (148)
  7. Devan Welch (132)
  8. Paul Whibley (117)
  9. Nate Smith (62)
  10. Dustin Gibson (61)

Click here for complete results.

Click here for more off-road racing news.