2017 Las Vegas Arenacross Results

Cycle News Staff | May 8, 2017

2017 Las Vegas Arenacross Results – Gavin Faith, the defending Amsoil Supercross Championship, successfully defended his number-one plate after claiming the overall victory at the season final inside the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada, May 5. Faith, on the Team Babbitt’s/Monster Energy/Amsoil Kawasaki, clung to an eight-point lead going into the season final but managed to add to that points gap after taking the victory in the first of two main events, then finishing second in the other to grab the overall victory. After all was said and done, Faith finished out the season with a 10-point advantage over season-long rival Jace Owen, who held the points lead going into The Race To The Ricky Cup when the points standing was reset for the last five rounds.

2017 Las Vegas Arenacross Results

2017 Las Vegas Arenacross Results
Gavin Faith celebrates his second Arenacross Championship with Ricky Carmichael. Photography by ShitOne Photography.

That’s when Faith stepped up his game a notch. It is the second time in a row that he is able to hoist the Ricky Carmichael Cup at the end of the Amsoil Arenacross Championship. Faith finished out the 2017 with nine main event wins.

Owen, on the Team TiLUBE/Jack’s Links/TUF Racing Honda, finished out his standout year with second overall (2-1) in Vegas and in the championship. Owen was actually third in the championship going into the season final, but two strong finishes enabled him to get around Chris Blose in the final standings. Owen tallied a leading 17 main-event victories over the course of the season.

Blose (Rockstar Energy/OTSFF/Yamaha) kept his title hunt alive after placing second in the first main event but a crash in the second race ended his run for the title just a little earlier than he had planned. His 2-12 result gave him eighth on the night and third in the championship, seven points behind Owen.

Fourth in the championship went to Woodstock KTM rider Daniel Herrlein, while Travis Sewell (Kawasaki) was fifth.

Third on the night went to Owen’s teammate Ben Lamay (4-3) with fourth going to Jacob Williamson (5-4) and Travis Sewall (6-5).

2017 Las Vegas Arenacross Results

2017 Las Vegas Arenacross Results
Justin Cooper (left) and Ryan Breece captured the Eastern and Western Regional AX titles.

The Las Vegas final also decided the champions in the Eastern and Western Regional divisions, which included the East/West Shootout, won by Michigan’s Williamson (Team Babbitt’s/GPF/Monster Energy Kawasaki/MMCR). It wasn’t, however, enough to overtake Justin Cooper (Yamaha/Rock River bLU cRU) and his 15-point lead in the East Championship going into the race.

Cooper, of Cold Spring Harbor, New York, finished out the season with 131 points (and three main-event wins) to Williamson’s 117 points (and three main-event wins).

Athol, Idaho’s Ryan Breece held on to win the West Championship, finishing out the year just six points ahead of Hunter Sayles, 128-122. Breece had three main-event victories and Sayles had two. CN



  1. Gavin Faith (Kaw) 1-2
  2. Jace Owen (Hon) 3-1
  3. Ben Lamay (Hon) 4-3
  4. Jacob Williamson (Kaw) 5-4
  5. Travis Sewell (Kaw) 6-5


  1. Jacob Williamson (Kaw)
  2. Justin Cooper (Yam)
  3. Ryan Breece (Kaw)
  4. Jared Lesher (KTM)
  5. Jeramy Taylor (KTM)

Click here for complete results.