Coma Does It! KTM’s Marc Coma Victorious at 2015 Dakar Rally

Jean Turner | January 17, 2015
Dakar Rally final overall win Marc Coma Red Bull KTM factory team

Marc Coma and the Red Bull KTM Factory Team erupt in celebration at the finish of the 2015 Dakar Rally. Photography by Red Bull Content Pool.

Red Bull KTM’s Marc Coma ended the final stage at the 2015 Dakar Rally in celebration today as he wrapped up his fifth career overall victory. Coma rode to a modest fifth-place finish today, more than enough to wrap up the big win after 13 long days of racing over thousands of miles and three different countries.

HRC’s Paulo Goncalves ended up second overall, as expected, and will join Coma on the podium along with Australian rider Toby Price, who claimed a remarkable third place in his first-ever Dakar Rally.

Ivan Jakes took the final Stage win of the rally, and used his late-race push to overtake Laia Sanz in overall standings. Jakes ended the race eighth ahead of Sanz, who made history by finishing inside the top-10 at ninth place.

Oliver Pain made Yamaha’s presence known in the top-10 by finishing tenth. The final day was a decent showing for Yamaha, who had two riders inside the top-ten on Stage 13.

Motorcycle Results – Stage 13

1. Ivan Jakes (KTM)
2. Stefan Svitko (KTM)
3. Toby Price (KTM)
4. Paulo Goncalves (Hon)
5. Marc Coma (KTM)
6. Hans Vogels (KTM)
7. Frans Verhoeven (Yam)
8. Pablo Quintanilla (KTM)
9. Xavier De Soultrait (Yam)
10. Laia Sanz (Hon)

Final Motorcycle Results

1. Marc Coma (KTM) 46:03:49
2. Paulo Goncalves (Hon) +16:53
3. Toby Price (KTM) +23:14
4. Pablo Quintanilla (KTM) +38:38
5. Stefan Svitko (KTM) +44:17
6. Ruben Faria (KTM) +1:57:50
7. David Casteu (KTM) +2:00:14
8. Ivan Jakes (KTM +2:18:18
9. Laia Sanz (Hon) +2:24:21
10. Oliver Pain (Yam) +3:09:09
11. Hans Vogels (KTM) +3:31:50
12. Helder Rodrigues (Hon) +4:00:15
13. Xavier De Soultrait (Yam) +4:20:18
14. Paolo Ceci (KTM) +4:58:14
15. Frans Verhoeven (Yam) +5:13:40
16. Txomin Arana Cobeaga (Yam) +5:21:45
17. Joan Barreda (Hon) +5:54:35
18. Jakub Przygonski (KTM) +6:21:12
19. Javier Pizzolito (Hon) +6:22:16
20. Ondrej Klymciw (KTM) +6:37:39 

Dakar Rally Photos

Dakar Rally News

Jean Turner | Contributor

A former staffer at Cycle News, Turner continues to contribute to the website and magazine as a columnist and someone we can count on to whip up a few thousand words on an off-road race when needed.