Lafferty Takes Over

Cycle News Staff | April 10, 2000

Riding in his home state of New Jersey, Michael Lafferty grabbed the overall win yesterday at round four of the AMA/FMF National Championship Enduro Series in Belleplain. The win moved the KTM rider into first place in the points chase, as erstwhile leader Randy Hawkins finished third on his Yamaha four-stroke. Finishing between the two former champs was Lafferty’s brother and KTM teammate Rich. David Lykke was fourth on a Yamaha, and Craig Holasek completed the top five on his Husqvarna. The top 10 were rounded out by Matt Stavish on a Gas Gas, Chris Smith on a Suzuki, Nathan Knight on a Gas Gas, Craig Shenigo on a KTM, and James Gunselman on a Yamaha.

Hawkins had won the first two rounds of the series, but Lafferty has now won the second two, and he leads Hawkins by seven points in the title chase, 106-99. Lykke is a distant third with 65.

The next stop on the 14-round circuit is in Kalgary, Texas, on May 21. This could bode well for Hawkins, as both of his wins came in the western U.S.