The Speed Kings Wins MPG Best Book of the Year

Press Release | February 26, 2020

Motor Press Guild Names Don Emde’s Book Best of the Year

Don Emde, a former Daytona 200 winner and Motorcycle Hall of Fame inductee, has announced his newly-released book: The Speed Kings. The Rise and Fall of Motordrome Racing.

This is a press release from Emde Books…

Emde Books is proud to announce that The Speed Kings: The Rise & Fall of Motordrome Racing by Don Emde was awarded the Motor Press Guild (MPG) Best Book of the Year honor for 2019.

Winners were announced at the Motor Press Guild’s annual awards ceremony, held February 23 at The Petersen Automotive Museum in Los Angeles, CA.

Founded in 1984, the Motor Press Guild is the largest automotive media association in North America. Held each February, the Motor Press Guild’s annual Dean Batchelor Excellence in Automotive Journalism Awards recognize the best of the best in a number of different categories. This year marked the first time in the award’s history that the MPG Best Book of the Year honor was awarded to a book on motorcycling.

Published in 2019, The Speed Kings is an in-depth chronicle of the birth, evolution and eventual demise of motordrome racing in America, featuring amazing illustrations and rare historical documents. This beautiful four-color sepia-tone book contains 600 illustrations and 40 chapters over 372 pages, printed right here in the United States of America.

The Speed Kings is available at