Metzeler Takes Three North West 200 Wins

Press Release | May 18, 2019

Irwin, Hillier and Bonetti share spoils as Harrison, Coward, Rutter, McGee, Elkin and Cooper join them on the podium.

Irwin and Hillier on the North West 200 Superbike podium
Irwin and Hillier on the Superbike podium

This is a press release from Metzeler…

May 18, 2019 – It was another dominant event for Metzeler at the opening International Road Race of the season, taking victory in the Superbike, Superstock and Supertwin races alongside additional podiums in the Supersport category.

With fantastic weather gracing the North West 200 circuit throughout practice and qualifying, the riders wasted no time in getting their machines dialed in, seeing lap times quickly tumble. In the Superbike class, Metzeler riders Glenn Irwin, Dean Harrison and Alastair Seeley all lapped under the existing lap record on their Racetec™ RR Slick tires to lock out the front row. Seeley secured pole position in the Supersport class on his RR road legal tires while Jamie Coward topped Supertwin qualifying.

Glenn Irwin celebrates victory.
Glenn Irwin celebrates victory.

The now traditional Thursday evening races saw disaster strike Seeley as he crashed out while battling for the lead, however both Harrison and Hillier were able to reach the podium with second and third. The opening Superstock race saw Irwin kick off his North West with a second place while the Supertwin race saw a podium clean sweep as Stefano Bonetti took his maiden International Road Race victory ahead of Coward and Michael Rutter.

Dean Harrison in Supersport action.
Dean Harrison in Supersport action.

With weather taking a turn for the main race day, action was heavily delayed as rain soaked the nine-mile circuit. Finally getting under way with a six-lap Supersport race, Derek McGee narrowly missed out on victory, eventually securing second place at the checkered flag but setting the fastest lap of the race in the process.

Derek McGill on his way to the Supersport podium.
Derek McGill on his way to the Supersport podium.

The opening Superbike race was reduced to four laps, with the circuit quickly drying. Taking to the track with Racetec™ RR Rain tires, Hillier and Irwin immediately took the lead, edging away from the rest of the field. Battling it out to the final lap, Irwin was able to slice past his teammate at the Juniper chicane to claim his fourth North West 200 Superbike win in a row and making it a Metzeler 1-2.

James Hillier claims Superstock win.
James Hillier claims Superstock win.

Christian Elkin and Rutter took second and third place in the second Supertwin race while the last Superstock race saw Hillier scorch off the line and pull away to take his maiden North West victory ahead of Metzeler-shod newcomer Richard Cooper, who took a sensational second place. With the weather closing in again ahead of the final race, the second Superbike race was canceled.

Metzeler UK Racing Manager Jason Griffiths commented, “It’s been another fantastic North West 200 for Metzeler, taking three wins at the hands of three different riders. This week has seen the complete Racetec™ RR range utilized; with Irwin setting Superbike pole on his slick tires with the fastest ever lap while we saw victories come on our road-legal treaded tires, Intermediate and Rain, demonstrating the versatility and competitiveness of Metzeler. It is a shame the final race had to be canceled, but we now head to the Isle of Man TT where we look forward to challenging for further success.”

North West 200 Races:

Supersport Race 1

  1. Lee Johnston
  2. Dean Harrison (METZELER)
  3. James Hillier (METZELER)

Superstock Race 1

  1. Peter Hickman
  2. Glenn Irwin (METZELER)
  3. Michael Dunlop

Supertwin Race 1

  1. Stefano Bonetti (METZELER)
  2. Jamie Coward (METZELER)
  3. Michael Rutter (METZELER)

Supersport Race 2

  1. Davey Todd
  2. Derek McGee (METZELER)
  3. Conor Cummins

Superbike Race 1

  1. Glenn Irwin (METZELER)
  2. James Hillier (METZELER)
  3. Conor Cummins

Supertwin Race 2

  1. Jeremy McWilliams
  2. Christian Elkin (METZELER)
  3. Michael Rutter (METZELER)

Superstock Race 2

  1. James Hillier (METZELER)
  2. Richard Cooper (METZELER)
  3. Davey Todd


To find out more about the full range of tires and activities from Metzeler, visit


Click here for more Press Releases on Cycle News.