Throwback Thursday: Team Suzuki Endurance Victorious in Portland

Larry Lawrence | February 14, 2019

Throwback Thursday: Team Suzuki Endurance Victorious in Portland

Henny Ray Abrams photo

In this week’s Throwback we go back 25 years ago to August of 1994 and the Sunoco/Performance Machine WERA National Endurance Series 4-Hour at Portland International Raceway. In ’94 the WERA Endurance Series was a major road racing championship well supported by the manufacturers and aftermarket companies. The hours of riding in varying conditions experienced by the competitors helped groom many future road racing champs.

At Portland that year it was the dominant squad of the series, Team Suzuki Endurance, riding the team’s Suzuki GSX-R1100 to victory behind the fast and steady riding of Michael Martin and Tray Batey. That’s Martin and Batey at the center of the photo holding up the trophy and celebrating their win.

Finishing second overall in the race was Team Pearls Suzuki aboard a Suzuki GSX-R750. Team Pearls riders that day were Darryl Saylor and Frank Wilson on the right of the photo. It was an all-Suzuki rostrum. Rounding out the podium finishers were R.A. Racing’s Tim Ruhl and Ian McKinstray, pictured on the left. They also raced a Suzuki GSX-R1100.

You can read about this race and so much more by subscribing to the Cycle News Archives at:

Larry Lawrence | Archives Editor In addition to writing our Archives section on a weekly basis, Lawrence is another who is capable of covering any event we throw his way.