Cody Webb Wins Everett EnduroCross

Cycle News Staff | October 23, 2016

Cody Webb Wins Everett EnduroCross: Cody Webb kept his title hopes very much alive with a big win at the Everett EnduroCross in Washington, October 22. In front of a packed house inside Xfinity Arena, the defending champ got out in front early in the Main event and held off points leader Colton Haaker for the victory.

Cody Webb Wins Everett EnduroCross

Cody Webb Wins Everett EnduroCross
(Left to right) Colton Haaker, Cody Webb and Ty Tremaine celebrate on the Everett podium. Photography by Adam Booth

The win was important in that it keeps Webb within 10 points of leader Haaker in the race for the 2016 championship. Just two rounds remain on the EnduroCross schedule.

Haaker grabbed the $500 Nexen Tire Holeshot award money but couldn’t hold off Webb, who passed Haaker by the second lap, and that’s when Webb really took charge of the race on his FMF KTM and never looked back.

Haaker, on the Rockstar/Husqvarna, stayed close for a while but lost touch with Webb as they started encountering lapped traffic. The two riders lapped riders all the way up to third before it was over. That third-place rider was KTM rider Ty Tremaine.

“I think I only made two little mistakes and Colton made more,” said Webb after getting the win. “It allowed me to open up the gap and cruise to victory. It’s a great feeling.”

“Overall, I had more mistakes at the end of the race and just couldn’t get through the lappers as easily as Cody did,” Haaker said.

Finishing fourth was KTM rider Cory Graffunder, while fifth went to Beta’s Kyle Redmond.

Former champ Taddy Blazusiak was sixth after struggling on the first lap.

2016 AMA EnduroCross Series

Everett, Washington

RESULTS: October 22, 2016

  1. Cody Webb (KTM)
  2. Colton Haaker (Hus)
  3. Ty Tremaine (KTM)
  4. Cory Graffunder (KTM)
  5. Kyle Redmond (Beta)
  6. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM)
  7. Max Gerston (Beta)
  8. Trystan Hart (Hus)
  9. Noah Kepple (KTM)
  10. Nick Thompson (KTM)
  11. Cooper Abbott (Hus)
  12. Ty Culins (Beta)