Ken Roczen, Cooper Webb Named AMA Supercross Rookies Of The Year

Kit Palmer | May 16, 2014
  Cooper Webb was named the 2014 AMA 250 Supercross Rookie of the Year

Cooper Webb (above) and Ken Roczen (front page) were named this year’s AMA Supercross Rookies of the Year.

Ken Roczen and Cooper Webb have been named this year’s AMA Supercross Rookies of the Year based on their performances during the 2014 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series. Roczen finished third in his first full season in the 450 class, while Webb finished out the 250 West Supercross Series in fifth, accumulating more points than any other 250-class rider in either the West or East Championships.

“Both of these riders had outstanding seasons,” said AMA Supercross Director Kevin Crowther. “Ken and Cooper have shown repeatedly that they are part of the AMA Supercross competitive landscape, and will be for years to come. We congratulate them on their performances in 2014.”

AMA Rookie of the Year honors are awarded to the eligible rookie rider with the most points accumulated in each class.

Roczen, a former MX2 World Champion, also won two rounds of the 2014 Supercross season, claiming victories at the Anaheim I and Atlanta rounds. The Red Bull KTM Team rider from Germany also finished on the podium six times.

Webb, of the Rockstar Energy/Yamahlube/Star Racing Yamaha Team, didn’t get a win over the eight-round series, but the rider from North Carolina did finish second twice. He also finished fourth in the year-end Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Shootout.


Kit Palmer | Off-Road Editor

Kit Palmer started his career at Cycle News in 1984 and he’s been testing dirt and streetbikes ever since – plus covering any event that uses some form of a knobby tire. He’s also our resident motorcycle mileage man with a commute of 120 miles a day.