Suzuka 8 Hours: Yamaha Yart Leads The Way

Cycle News Staff | July 26, 2013
The Yamaha Yart team sets the fastest time in todays Suzuka 8 Hour qualifying.

The Yamaha YART team headed by Katsuyuki Nakasuga topped the time sheets today in the Suzuka 8 hour qualifying.  Nakasuga’s 2’07.629 lap time was just ahead of Yoshimura Suzuki’s 2’07.688 set by Takauya Tsuda.  Following in third was FCC TSR Honda’s  Jonathon Rea with his time of 2’07.857.

Behind them in fourth was the Musashi RT Harc-Pro team led by Michael Van Der Mark. Moving up into fifth was Team Kagayama led by Noriyuki Haga.  Haga’s teammate Kevin Schwantz dropped two seconds off his time with a 2’10.907.

Yamaha France finished in sixth led by David Checa and Jason Pridmore’s team, BMW Mottorad France followed in seventh led by his teammate Erwan Nigon.

Rounding out the top ten for tomorrow’s top 10 Trial Superpole are the Suzuki Endurance Racing Team in eighth, Toho Racing in ninth, and Honda Team Asia in 10th.

Superpole starts tomorrow at 3:30 pm local time and gives two riders from each team one flying lap to determine their grid positions.