National Enduro Opener

| February 12, 2001

The AMA/FMF National Championship Enduro Series kicked off yesterday in Wickenburg, Arizona, and defending champion Michael Lafferty got things started righth with an overall victory, though that result was initially in some doubt thanks to confusion with the club’s results-tallying. The New Jersey resident started slow last season, failing to pick up a win in the first two western rounds, but the factory KTM rider has apparently figured out how to deal with the cacti and boulders for which the area is famous.

Finishing second was Yamaha rider Russ Pearson, no stranger to such conditions, with Randy Hawkins taking third overall in the debut of the Yamaha WR250F four-stroke. Former champion Ty Davis was fourth on a Yamaha YZ250F thumper, with Kawasaki Team Green’s defending Hare & Hound National Champion Destry Abbott completing the top five overall.

By Kenneth King