2020 MXGP Of Pietramurata Results

Cycle News Staff | November 5, 2020

Tim Gajser clinched his third MXGP World Championship (and the fourth World title of his career) in Pietramurata, Italy, November 4. The Honda HRC Team rider from Slovenia sewed up the title a round early after the first moto, where he finished second to Yamaha’s Jeremy Seewer of Switzerland. Gajser went on to win the second moto to claim the overall victory ahead of Seewer (1-2) and Kawasaki’s Romain Febvre (5-3).

Gajser MXGP Champion Again

Tim Gajser clinched his third MXGP title in Italy.

“It feels just unbelievable,” said Gajser of winning the MXGP title. “Like I said many times, winning one is incredible but now four is just…speechless. I’m really happy. It was a weird season, but anyway in the end everything came together, and we won another title. In the first race, I was already struggling with the clutch and was riding without the clutch the whole race, finishing second. Then in the second race, I had a nice battle with Romain [Febvre] who was really pushing and I’m super happy to win the title and the overall on the same day”.

In the MX2 class, Red Bull KTM’s Tom Vialle clinched the class championship, also after the first moto of which he led every lap. A bad start and a bent shift lever relegated the Frenchman to eighth overall on the day.

Tom Vialle clinched his first MX2 number-one plate. Photo: Ray Archer

Jago Geerts (Yamaha), the man Vialle had battled all season for the number-one plate, was the day’s GP winner, and he clinched second in the championship with one race left on Sunday.

Great Britain’s Ben Watson (Yamaha) was second overall on the day and Australia’s Jed Beaton (Husqvarna) third.

“I got the Fox Holeshot in the first race and it was fantastic,” said first-time champion Vialle. “On the last lap of the first race, I was almost crying and feeling so strange but then to win the title is just fantastic. I didn’t get a great start in the second race and then somebody hit me from behind and I was stuck [in gear], so I had to go back to the pitlane to fix it, but I still finished. Thank you to all who supported me to win the MX2 title!” CN

2020 FIM Motocross World Championship

Round 17 of 18

MXGP of Pietramurata

Pietramurata, Italy

RESULTS (November 4, 2020)


1. Tim Gajser (Hon) 2-1
2. Jeremy Seewer (Yam) 1-3
3. Romain Febvre (Kaw) 5-2
4. Clement Desalle (Kaw) 4-4
5. Antonio Cairoli (KTM) 6-5


1. Jago Geerts (Yam) 5-1
2. Ben Watson (Yam) 4-2
3. Jed Beaton (Hus) 2-4
4. Maxime Renaux (Yam) 3-5
5. Thibault Benistant (Yam) 7-3