2017 GNCC Mountaineer Results

| September 25, 2017

2017 GNCC Mountaineer Results – It was only a matter of time for Ryan Sipes to win his first GNCC race, and that time has finally come for the Coastal Racing Husqvarna Team rider at the Mountaineer Run in Masontown, West Virginia, September 24. And Sipes left no doubt as to who was the fastest rider on this day, as he led pretty much from start to finish.

2017 GNCC Mountaineer Results

2017 GNCC Mountaineer Results
Ryan Sipes dominated the Mountaineer GNCC in West Virginia. Photo: Ken Hill

It would have been a perfect day for Sipes had he nabbed the $250 All Balls Racing XC1 Holeshot Award, which instead went to Ricky Russell, but Sipes quickly put his Husqvarna at the front a few turns later and never looked back. He held a commanding 43-second lead after the first lap and successfully managed that gap for the remaining seven laps, eventually taking the checkered flag 33.5 seconds ahead of defending champ Kailub Russell on the FMF/KTM.

Russell ran second the whole way. He had a good battle with Trevor Bollinger early in the race before Bollinger dropped back a few positions just past the halfway point. Then, late in the race, Russell could hear another bike closing in on him—a Yamaha being ridden by Ricky Russell of the N-Fab/Am-Pro Team. But Kailub went just fast enough needed to take the checkered flag in second place, just five seconds ahead of the charging Yamaha rider.

Josh Toth, on the N-Fab/Am-Pro Yamaha, was next across the finish line in fourth, but more importantly for him with the XC2 250 Pro (16-24) class win. After passing Layne Michael on the first lap, it was all Toth who ended up clinching the 2017 XC2 Pro Championship.

2017 GNCC Mountaineer Results

2017 GNCC Mountaineer Results
Josh Toth celebrates the 2017 XC2 Pro Championship. Photo: Ken Hill

Fifth overall went to SRT/KTM’s Steward Baylor who had plenty of breathing room over his brother, Grant (Rocky Mountain ATV-MC/KR4/Husqvarna). Bollinger slipped back to seventh overall, followed by the second XC2-class rider Craig Delong (Husqvarna), who edged out fellow XC2 rider, Michael, by a few seconds.

Rounding out the top 10 overall was another XC2 rider Michael Witkowski (KTM).

For the second race in a row, Thad Duvall did not suit up, as he is still healing up from a wrist injury that he suffered at the ISDE. Duvall is still second in the championship but now trails Kailub Russell by 58 points. Steward Baylor trails Duvall by nine points.

N-Fab/AmPro Yamaha’s Paul Whibley snagged the $100 Wiseco FMF XC3 125 Pro-Am class holeshot, but Jason Thomas was able to get in the early lead and maintain the front position until the checkered flag flew. Whibley and Coastal Racing/Husqvarna’s Jack Edmondson rounded out the class podium. Thomas’ win vaulted him to the top of the points standings where he was presented with the National Championship.

Alex Teagarden secured top amateur honors with 18th overall, while Cole Mattison and Hunter Bush filled the rest of the amateur podium in the 1 p.m. pro race.

The WXC ladies topped the 10 a.m. overall podium, where Fly Racing/Maxxis/Seat Concepts/KTM’s Becca Sheets claimed her second win of the season. Bonanza Plumbing/Trail Jester KTM”s Mackenzie Tricker followed in second, while The Motorcycle Shop/Kenda/Bell/V3 Off-Road’s Brooke Cosner rounded out the podium in third. Randall Ervin was awarded the Overall Amateur award after his 125 B/C class win and 10th overall.

2017 GNCC Mountaineer Results

Rocky Mountain ATV/MC Mountaineer Run GNCC
Masontown, West Virginia
Round 11 of 13
Sunday, September 24

XC1 Open Pro Event Results:

  1. Ryan Sipes (HUS)
  2. Kailub Russell (KTM)
  3. Ricky Russell (YAM)
  4. Steward Baylor (KTM)
  5. Grant Baylor (HUS)
  6. Trevor Bollinger (HON)
  7. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)
  8. Mason Atherton (HUS)
  9. Chris Bach (KTM)
  10. Josh Strang (HUS)

*Overall National Championship Standings:

  1. Kailub Russell (260)
  2. Thad Duvall (202)
  3. Steward Baylor (193)
  4. Ricky Russell (184)
  5. Josh Toth (167)
  6. Grant Baylor (144)
  7. Trevor Bollinger (129)
  8. Layne Michael (116)
  9. Craig Delong (114)
  10. Jordan Ashburn (112)

*Indicates that the Overall National Championship Standings will determine the 2017 National Champion.

XC2 250 Pro Event Results:

  1. Josh Toth (YAM)
  2. Craig Delong (HUS)
  3. Layne Michael (HUS)
  4. Michael Witkowski (KTM)
  5. Ben Kelley (KTM)
  6. Austin Lee (HON)
  7. Brendan Riordan (YAM)
  8. Dylan Macritchie (KTM)
  9. Jesper Borjessen (HUS)
  10. Jesse Groemm (KTM)

XC2 250 Pro Series Standings:

  1. Josh Toth (301)
  2. Craig Delong (238)
  3. Layne Michael (237)
  4. Mike Witkowski (195)
  5. Ben Kelley (159)
  6. Austin Lee (158)
  7. Jesse Groemm (151)
  8. Zack Hayes (131)
  9. Sam Evans (100)
  10. Zach Nolan (94)

FMF XC3 125 Pro-Am Event Results:

  1. Jason Thomas (HUS)
  2. Paul Whibley (YAM)
  3. Jack Edmondson (HUS)
  4. Chris Venditti (YAM)
  5. Hunter Neuwirth (HUS)
  6. Tayla Jones (HUS)
  7. Devan Welch (YAM)
  8. Jaryn Williams (YAM)
  9. Mark Heresco Jr. (KTM)
  10. Josh Adkins (YAM)

FMF XC3 125 Pro-Am Points Standings:

  1. Jason Thomas (292)
  2. Hunter Neuwirth (217)
  3. Mark Heresco Jr. (205)
  4. Jack Edmondson (178)
  5. Jaryn Williams (137)
  6. Josh Adkins (137)
  7. Paul Whibley (117)
  8. Devan Welch (111)
  9. Nate Smith (62)
  10. Dustin Gibson (61)

Click here for complete results.

Click here for more off-road racing news and results.


By Contributor