Brayton Fast Qualifier For Vegas Supercross

Paul Carruthers | May 5, 2012

LAS VEGAS, NV, MAY 5 – It’s plain and simple: If Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Brayton hopes to win the first Monster Energy Supercross main event of his career in 2012, it has to happen tonight in the season finale. Brayton set the table for just that by turning the quickest lap in qualifying this afternoon inside Sam Boyd Stadium, the CRF450F-mounted Iowan besting the man he’s embroiled with in the chase for second in the Monster Energy Supercross Series, Davi Millsaps.Justin Brayton rode his Honda to the fastest time in qualifying for tonight’s Las Vegas Supercross.

Brayton lapped at a best of 1:03.421 with Millsaps second with his 1:03.547. Millsaps is currently seven points ahead of Brayton, 244-237, in their battle for second with Ryan Dungey, with 232 points, the only other rider with a shot at the runner-up spot behind injured champion Ryan Villopoto.

Third this afternoon went to Star Valli Yamaha’s Nico Izzi, the Menifee, California resident posting a best of 1:03.596 to lead the lone member of Monster Kawasaki Jake Weimer. Weimer ended up fourth, just ahead of Red Bull KTM’s Dungey – the final rider to lap in the 1:03s.

Monster Pro Circuit’s Broc Tickle,’s Nick Wey, Star Valli Yamaha’s Robert Kiniry, MotoConcepts Suzuki’s Mike Alessi and Dodge/Hart & Huntington’s Kyle Regal rounded out the top 10 qualifers.

Spectators who got in early were teased by the appearance of Kevin Windham on the track for the first practice session. Windham, however, won’t race tonight, saying he still feels a bit of sync with the bike. The GEICO Honda rider ended up with the 17th fastest time from his lone session on the bike.

Yoshimura Suzuki’s Brett Metcalfe’s chances of riding tonight are 50/50, according to his team. The Australian crashed in practice and hit his head and the team will evaluate his condition prior to the start of tonight’s program.

Chaparral Honda’s Andrew Short, meanwhile, ended up 12th in qualifying.

Supercross Qualifying

1.                  Justin Brayton (Honda) 1:03.426

2.                  Davi Millsaps (Yamaha) 1:03.547

3.                  Nico Izzi (Yamaha) 1:03.596

4.                  Jake Weimer (Kawasaki) 1:03.720

5.                  Ryan Dungey (KTM) 1:03.770

6.                  Broc Tickle (Kawasaki) 1:04.782

7.                  Nick Wey (Kawasaki) 1:04.842

8.                  Robert Kiniry (Yamaha) 1:04.849

9.                  Mike Alessi (Suzuki) 1:05.015

10.                  Kyle Regal (Kawasaki) 1:05.078

Paul Carruthers | Editor

Paul Carruthers took over as the editor of Cycle News in 1993 after serving as associate editor since starting his career at the publication in 1985. Carruthers has covered every facet of the sport in his near-28-year tenure at America's Daily Motorcycle News Source.