Musquin Wraps up MX2 World Championship

Cycle News Staff | September 14, 2009

An action-packed Honda Grand Prix of Brazil, rounding off the 2009 FIM Motocross World Championship, concluded with the victories of Clement Desalle and Marvin Musquin, the latter also wrapping up the MX2 Championship.

Steve Ramon and Max Nagl completed the MX1 podium, while 2009 World Champion Antonio Cairoli struggled to end ninth; German Max Nagl wrapped up the second place in the Championship.

Ken Roczen and Steven Frossard rounded off the MX2 podium ahead of fourth overall Rui Goncalves who ended an eventual second in the Championship.MX1LS Motors Honda’s Desalle steered his machine to his second career GP victory at Canelinha where the Belgian performed as strong as ever. Desalle moved past Nagl in heat one to take victory and settled for second in heat two where a superb Ramon won his first season’s heat.

Teka Suzuki World MX1’s Ramon secured the podium with victory in heat two.

In moto on the two-time World Champion was seventh despite a good start.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Nagl completed the Brazilian podium by taking second in moto one after he let Desalle by and fifth in the final heat, where he struggled with the track conditions. Nevertheless, Nagl wrapped up the runner up spot in the Championship ahead of Desalle.

Yamaha Monster Energy Motocross’ Coppins was fourth overall ahead of Ken DeDycker of Teka Suzuki WMX1.

David Philippaerts missed the third place in the Championship, as he dropped down to sixth in the overall standings after a second-moto crash.

World Champion Cairoli also had a tough Brazilian outing, slipping in moto one and getting stuck in a second corner accident in heat two. The pole man was ninth overall at his first Grand Prix after undergoing knee surgery in the week following Lierop.

Brazilian Jorge Balbi was tenth overall to be the best placed home rider as his sister Mariana, the first ever woman to have raced an MX1 Grand Prix, was 24th.MX1 Race 1 top ten: 1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), 39:14.078; ; 2. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:02.735; 3. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:08.439; 4. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), +0:09.877; 5. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:13.631; 6. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), +0:37.453; 7. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:42.279; 8. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +1:25.452; 9. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), +1:28.749; 10. Antonio Jorge Balbi Jr. (BRA, Honda), +1:29.845.MX1 Race 2 top ten: 1. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 39:20.165; ; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +0:04.350; 3. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:05.996; 4. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), +0:24.343; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:32.527; 6. Carlos Campano (ESP, Yamaha), +0:43.224; 7. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:54.357; 8. David Vuillemin (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:09.893; 9. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), +1:16.604; 10. Julien Bill (SUI, Aprilia), +1:20.582.MX1 Overall top ten: 1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), 47 points; 2. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 39 p.; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 38 p.; 4. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 36 p.; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 36 p.; 6. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 34 p.; 7. Carlos Campano (ESP, Yamaha), 25 p.; 8. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), 24 p.; 9. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 24 p.; 10. Antonio Jorge Balbi Jr. (BRA, Honda), 21 p..MX1 Championship top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 561 points; 2. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 525 p.; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), 508 p.; 4. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 497 p.; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 495 p.; 6. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 485 p.; 7. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), 395 p.; 8. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), 262 p.; 9. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 229 p.; 10. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 217 p..MX1 Manufacturers: 1. Yamaha, 655 points; 2. KTM, 585 p.; 3. Honda, 543 p.; 4. Suzuki, 519 p.; 5. Kawasaki, 317 p.; 6. Aprilia, 245 p.; 7. TM, 193 p.; 8. CCM, 169 p.; 9. Husaberg, 0 p.; 10. Husqvarna, 0 p..MX2Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Musquin won his first ever World title with gallantry as the 19 year old from France went on to win both motos. Musquin first beat teammate and runner up in the Championship Goncalves in heat one. Musquin moved past the Portuguese and pulled away to take victory and being crowned World Champion. In heat two he won a dogfight for first against the likes of Roczen and Frossard.

Teka Suzuki Europe World MX2’s Roczen was second in moto one but failed to wrap up his second career Grand Prix as he finished again second to Musquin in the final heat. The German young gun was second overall.

CLS’ Frossard came back to the podium after he took pole in the morning’s session. The Frenchman had a bad start in heat one and recovered to fourth, then fought tooth and nail to clinch third in the final moto and mount on the podium.

Other Red Bull KTM Factory Racing rider Goncalves was a disappointed fourth overall at the end of the Grand Prix which he entered with a Title chance.

KTM fellow rider Valentin Teillet rounded off the top five ahead of Davide Guarneri.

A technical issue hampered Gautier Paulin’s Grand Prix but the Bud Racing Kawasaki PSM’s man ended third overall in the Championship.MX2 Race 1 top ten: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 39:54.282; ; 2. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), +0:01.840; 3. Valentin Teillet (FRA, KTM), +0:21.591; 4. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:32.502; 5. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), +0:34.688; 6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:35.587; 7. Loic Larrieu (FRA, Yamaha), +0:54.886; 8. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), +1:06.759; 9. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), +1:11.523; 10. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +1:19.936;MX2 Race 2 top ten: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 39:25.625; 2. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), +0:01.696; 3. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:01.900; 4.Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), +0:31.007; 5. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), +0:32.429; 6. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), +0:32.898; 7. Jake Nicholls (GBR, KTM), +0:42.912; 8. Manuel Monni (ITA, Yamaha), +0:59.629; 9. Valentin Teillet (FRA, KTM), +1:05.041; 10. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +1:42.863.MX2 Overall top ten: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 50 points; 2. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), 44 p.; 3. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 38 p.; 4. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 32 p.; 5. Valentin Teillet (FRA, KTM), 32 p.; 6. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), 31 p.; 7. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), 27 p.; 8. Jake Nicholls (GBR, KTM), 24 p.; 9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 22 p.; 10. Manuel Monni (ITA, Yamaha), 21 p.;MX2 Championship top ten: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 540 points; 2. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 500 p.; 3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 437 p.; 4. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), 418 p.; 5. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), 390 p.; 6. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 332 p.; 7. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), 311 p.; 8. Manuel Monni (ITA, Yamaha), 284 p.; 9. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Yamaha), 256 p.; 10. Xavier Boog (FRA, Suzuki), 253 p..MX2 Manufacturers: 1. KTM, 659 points; 2. Kawasaki, 529 p.; 3. Suzuki, 506

p.; 4. Yamaha, 501 p.; 5. Honda, 369 p.; 6. TM, 14 p.