Throwback Thursday: Team USA 1991

Larry Lawrence | October 24, 2019

Throwback Thursday: Team USA 1991

Cycle News Photo Collection

In this week’s Throwback, we travel back 28 years to 1991 and that year’s Motocross des Nations in Valkenswaard, Holland. At that point Team USA had won the prestigious international competition ten years in a row and European organizers were seeking tracks with ever deeper sand to try to bury the American effort. The wickedly sandy and rutted Valkenswaard track nearly did the job, the Americans were trailing after two of three motos. But a heroic final moto effort by Jeff Stanton, who crashed several times and had to charge from near the back of the field to fifth (1st 500cc-class rider) on a bent bike, saved the day. Team USA won its 11th consecutive MX des Nations. This photo shows the three Team USA riders – Damon Bradshaw, Jeff Stanton and Mike Kiedrowski – being presented at that year’s des Nations opening ceremonies.

Larry Lawrence | Archives Editor In addition to writing our Archives section on a weekly basis, Lawrence is another who is capable of covering any event we throw his way.