2019 AMA Grand Prix Nationals Taft Results

Cycle News Staff | February 11, 2019

Zach Bell won round two of the FMF AMA Grand Prix Nationals in Taft, California, February 9-10. Bell (Team Green/Chaparral Motorsports/Precision Concepts) dominated the Dirt Diggers M.C.’s Honolulu Hills Grand Prix, riding wide around Trevor Stewart in the first turn and then storming off to victory. Bell took the checkered flag nearly two minutes ahead of his nearest rival, Stewart.

Zach Bell Captures Taft GP Win

2019 AMA Grand Prix Nationals Taft Results
Zach Bell (167) was uncatchable at the AMA Grand Prix Nationals at Taft. Photo: Mark Kariya

Stewart (JCR Honda) held the second-place position the whole way and held a 30-plus-second lead over third-place Blayne Thompson (Chaparral MTR/Yamaha) at the finish line.

Exactly a minute later came fourth-place finisher Dalton Shirey (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna) followed 30 seconds later by Dante Oliveira (KTM), who rounded out the top five.

Derek Kelley (SLR/Monster Energy Honda), Ryan Surratt (Kawasaki), Justin Seeds (Chaparral MTR/Yamaha), Ryan Reina (John Burr Cycles/Kawasaki) and Justin Hoeft completed the top 10.

Pro II winner Ciaran Naran (3 Bros./SRT Husqvarna FC 250) finished 12th overall after chasing Austin Serpa (FMF/Maxxis/RPM Racing KTM) for the first half of the race before taking the lead for good.

Reigning class champ Clay Hengeveld (Team Green/Chaparral Motorsports/Precision Concepts) passed Serpa a few turns from the finish for the runner-up spot. CN

FMF AMA Grand Prix Nationals

Taft, California

RESULTS: February 9-10, 2019


  1. Zach Bell (Kaw)
  2. Trevor Stewart (Hon)
  3. Blayne Thompson (Kaw)
  4. Dalton Shirey (Hus)
  5. Dante Oliveira (KTM)
  6. Derek Kelley (Hon)
  7. Ryan Surratt (Kaw)
  8. Justin Seeds (Yam)
  9. Ryan Reina (Kaw)
  10. Justin Hoeft


  1. Ciaran Naran (Hus)
  2. Clay Hengeveld (Hus)
  3. Austin Serpa (KTM)
  4. Tyler Lynn (Yam)
  5. Preston Campbell (Hon)
  6. Nick Stover (KTM)
  7. Shane Logan (Hus)
  8. Willy Simons (Yam)
  9. Carson Carr (Yam)
  10. Mason Matthies (Yam)

Click here for all the latest off-road racing news.