Bowers, McDade Split AX Wins In Opener

Cycle News Staff | January 5, 2013

Two-time defending Arenacross Champion Tyler Bowers and Michael McDade came out of the opening night of racing in the AMSOIL Arenacross Series with victories last night at the DCU Center in Worcester, Massachusetts, but it was Zach Ames who came out of the evening with the overall win.

Featuring Ricky Carmichael’s Road To Supercross, the new Arenacross racing format was unveiled to the New England crowd on Friday, as championship points were on the line throughout the evening in the premier Arenacross class, which was highlighted by two main events. In the end, reigning back-to-back champion Bowers and his Babbitt’s Monster Energy/AMSOIL Kawasaki and his teammate McDade grabbed the checkered flags in each respective Main Event, but it was Ames who stood atop the podium as the first overall winner of the season. Additionally, McDade capped off his night by taking victory in the Arenacross Lites class.

After one of 16 events, Ames leads the title chase by a single point over Bowers, 30-29, with McDade just a point behind Bowers with 28.

Main Event 1
1. Tyler Bowers (Kawasaki)
2. Zach Ames (Kawasaki)
3. Daniel Blair (Suzuki)
4. Robby Marshall (KTM)
5. Michael McDade (Kawasaki)
6. Gared Steinke (Kawasaki)
7. Jeff Gibson (KTM)
8. Steven Mages (KTM)
9. Kyle White (Honda)
10. Kelly Smith (KTM)

Main Event 2
1. Michael McDade (Kawasaki)
2. Zach Ames (Kawasaki)
3. Robby Marshall (KTM)
4. Gared Steinke (Kawasaki)
5. Tyler Bowers (Kawasaki)
6. Dave Ginolfi (KTM)
7. Michael Lang (Honda)
8. Willy Browning (KTM)
9. Nathan Skaggs (KTM)
10. Kyle White (Honda)