Kailub Russell Gets First OMA Win

Cycle News Staff | May 13, 2013
  Kailub Russell captured his first OMA win at the Hoosier XC. Photography by John Gasso.

Kailub Russell topped the Hoosier XC in Indiana. Photography by John Gasso.

The third round of the 2013 Parts Unlimited OMA Nationals Series, the DP Brakes Hoosier XC, ran its course in Bedford, Indiana, May 12, where FMF/KTM’s Kailub Russell came away with the big win.

On a racecourse typically known for its dusty conditions, a bit of mud this year came as a welcome relief. After 11 laps of intense racing over a seven-mile course filled with a mixture of terrain from steep hill climbs and off-camber sections to wide-open fields, Russell captured his first OMA Nationals victory.

Defending OMA Nationals Champion Paul Whibley, on the AmPro Yamaha/Monster Energy/Kenda Yamaha, took the FMF Holeshot money but could not hold off Russell’s charge and had to settle for second place, taking the checkered flag 54 seconds behind Russell.

Behind Whibley, a battle for third came down to the wire with Russell Bobbitt, on the factory-backed FMF/Dunlop Husaberg, coming out ahead of Jordan Ashburn, on the AmPro Yamaha/Kenda Yamaha, by only three seconds after what Bobbitt described was “a serious battle.”

Rounding out the top five was Nick Fahringer on the Moose Racing/Enduro Engineering/ARR Husaberg.

“It was a good day,” Russell said. “I just tried to open up a gap and just maintain that gap the rest of the day. I was able to ride it in for the win.”


By John Gasso