DeDycker, Musquin Top German MX Grand Prix

Press Release | June 21, 2010

The following is from Youthstream:

Yamaha Monster Energy Ricci’s Ken De Dycker managed to take his first season’s overall victory at the FIM World MX Championship in Teutschenthal, Germany, yesterday, where he won both MX1 motos after hard fights with his rivals on the day of his 26th birthday.Taking an early lead in moto one, De Dycker pulled away to win with a nine-second advantage from David Philippaerts. In moto two, the Belgian had to work his way up to first and was chased by Tony Cairoli until the checkered flag, which he crossed just two-tenths of a second before the Italian.After taking his first season’s pole on Saturday, Rockstar Teka Suzuki World MX1’s Clement Desalle struggled in the races and made it to an eventual second overall. The Belgian was leading the opening heat when he crashed and recovered to an eventual third after a three-way battle for second with Xavier Boog and Philippaerts. In the second moto, Desalle was leading again but was passed first by De Dycker then by Cairoli and took another third place.Yamaha Monster Energy Motocross’ Philippaerts completed the podium despite being ill. The Italian fought hard for second in heat one and completed the day with a fifth place in moto two.Cairoli, of Red Bull KTM Factory Racing, was a bitter fourth overall. Cairoli tangled up with Tanel Leok at the start of moto one and was forced to recover from the tail of the group to sixth. In moto two, the MX1 Championship leader, Cairoli, rode strong to trouble De Dycker in the final laps and take an eventual second place.Kawasaki Racing’s Boog completed the top five after leading both races. The Frenchman was fast in the early stages of both motos – he even took the holeshot in heat one – but dropped down the bottom of the top five as the races went on.Home rider Max Nagl took sixth overall despite riding with a broken left collarbone from the French round.David Guarneri, who was a solid third in yesterday’s qualifying, was ninth overall as he struggled during the GP motos.In MX2, it was again Marvin Musquin who topped the podium at the end of the German Grand Prix, which marked victory number seven of 2010 for the Red Bull KTM Factory Racing rider from France. Musquin took victory in the first moto after moving past teammate Jeff Herlings but could not overtake second moto leader Ken Roczen, ending first ahead of Musquin.Second overall was last year’s German GP winner Roczen. The Teka Suzuki Europe World teenager struggled with his goggles in the first heat, riding with no eye protection and dropping down from third to fifth. In the final moto, Roczen took a dominant victory to secure the overall podium and reinforce his second place in the series behind Musquin.Bike-it Cosworth Yamaha UK’s Zach Osborne was third overall, as he took his third consecutive podium since his home GP at Glen Helen. Osborne struggled in the opening heat and took a fourth place with just two laps to go. He performed better in the final moto, ending third and securing the overall podium.Kawasaki CLS’ racers completed the top five, but it was a bitter result for the squad having Steven Frossard in fourth and Jeremy Van Horebeek in fifth. After taking second and third in moto one with Van Horebeek and Frossard, respectively, both crashed in moto two and had to work hard to get back into the top 10.Arnaud Tonus was sixth ahead of Christopher Charlier and Shaun Simpson, with the latter taking the holeshot in moto two. Gautier Paulin and Khoundsith Vongsana completed the top 10.Herlings stopped for technical issues in heat one and was eighth in moto two for a final 13th.

MX1 MOTO 1: 1. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Yamaha), 40:39.611; ; 2. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:09.467; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:20.240; 4. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:22.112; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:23.556; 6. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:24.725; 7. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:29.662; 8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:32.723; 9. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:35.193; 10. Tanel Leok (EST, Honda), +0:35.686;MX1 MOTO 2: 1. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Yamaha), 40:07.513; ; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:00.252; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:13.132; 4. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:27.811; 5. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:34.169; 6. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Honda), +0:38.707; 7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:41.813; 8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:46.007; 9. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:48.659; 10. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Honda), +0:50.042;MX1 OVERALL: 1. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Yamaha), 50 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 40 p.; 3. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 38 p.; 4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 37 p.; 5. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 36 p.; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 30 p.; 7. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 26 p.; 8. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 26 p.; 9. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Honda), 25 p.; 10. Tanel Leok (EST, Honda), 20 p.;MX1 CHAMPIONSHIP: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 341 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 276 p.; 3. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 267 p.; 4. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Yamaha), 251 p.; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 248 p.; 6. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 237 p.; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 217 p.; 8. Tanel Leok (EST, Honda), 182 p.; 9. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Honda), 165 p.; 10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 149 p.;

MX2 MOTO 1: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 40:44.108; ; 2. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:04.645; 3. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:12.812; 4. Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha), +0:31.456; 5. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), +0:35.632; 6. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Suzuki), +0:41.892; 7. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:43.478; 8. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), +0:44.200; 9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +1:03.398; 10. Jake Nicholls (GBR, KTM), +1:03.791;MX2 MOTO 2: 1. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), 40:06.652; ; 2. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), +0:26.568; 3. Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha), +0:36.614; 4. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:47.311; 5. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Suzuki), +1:00.947; 6. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), +1:06.656; 7. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), +1:16.155; 8. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +1:18.283; 9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +1:20.736; 10. Michael Leib (USA, Kawasaki), +1:21.304;MX2 OVERALL: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 47 points; 2. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), 41 p.; 3. Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha), 38 p.; 4. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 38 p.; 5. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), 36 p.; 6. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Suzuki), 31 p.; 7. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), 24 p.; 8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 24 p.; 9. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), 24 p.; 10. Khounsith Vongsana (FRA, KTM), 19 p.;MX2 CHAMPIONSHIP: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 365 points; 2. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), 288 p.; 3. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 268 p.; 4. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 241 p.; 5. Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha), 233 p.; 6. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 225 p.; 7. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Suzuki), 214 p.; 8. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), 209 p.; 9. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), 183 p.; 10. Jake Nicholls (GBR, KTM), 158 p.;


By Press Release