Bobbitt Takes Georgia Enduro

Shan Moore | February 22, 2009

Russell Bobbitt continued his success in the AMA/Rekluse National Enduro Series by taking his second win in as many rounds. His latest win came at the Cherokee National Enduro, round two of the series in Greensboro, Georgia, today.

The Red Bull KTM-mounted Bobbitt topped teammate Michael Lafferty by 11seconds to take the win. Bobbitt was behind Lafferty by as much as 12 seconds heading into the last of six sections, but a clean and fast run put Bobbitt ahead in the final tally, while Lafferty settled for second, beating another KTM rider, Cory Buttrick.

Kawasaki-mounted Jimmy Jarrett ran with the leaders during the early going, but by his own admission, had problems in some of the tighter trail and ended the day in seventh. KTM rider Brad Bakken finished fourth, while Husaberg rider Nick Fahringer and Yamaha’s Jason Raines rounded out the top six.


1. Russel Bobbitt (KTM); 2. Micheal Lafferty (KTM); 3. Cory Buttrick (KTM); 4. Brad Bakken (KTM); 5. Nick Fahringer (Hsb); 6. Jason Raines (Yam); 7. Jim Jarrett (Kaw); 8. Cole Kirkpatrick (KTM); 9. Stewart Baylor Jr.; 10. Shane Watts (KTM).

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.