Everts Clinches Ninth Title

| September 5, 2005

Stefan Everts captured his ninth World Motocross Championship, while Antonio Cairoli celebrated his first title with victory in the MX2 class today in Holland.

Rinaldi Yamaha’s Everts enjoyed his return to Lierop, where he won both motos.

“I think the track was a big advantage for me,” Everts said. “I love the sand. Last week I was tired in England, and today here in Lierop, it was a different track and I was more confident. “This year I have been having trouble in the starts, it’s been a tough season,” Everts said. “Compared to other years, this one was more difficult. I kept the points to a distance and that was important. I knew Ben [Townley] was going to be fast, he is a great sand rider and he was aggressive in the early part of the race. I decided to follow him if he got the lead, and that worked out.”

Cairoli was understandably very happy with his MX2 Championship. The Yamaha rider is the first Italian to win a World MX title since Alessio Chiodi and Andrea Bartolini in 1999.

Tyla Rattray won the overall in the MX2 class today, going 2-1. Rattray won the opening GP of the season before being struck with injuries and missing many rounds. In his comeback race last week in England he won, and again today in Lierop.

Second place went to Marc De Reuver who went 1-2 on the day.


MX1 MOTO 1: 1. Stefan Everts (Yam); 2. Steve Ramon (KTM); 3. Josh Coppins (Hon); 4. Ben Townley (KTM); 5. Kevin Strijbos (Suz); 6. Jussi Vehvilainen (Hon); 7. Danny Theybers (Suz); 8. Brian Jorgensen (Yam); 9. Jonathan Barragan (KTM); 10. Ken De Dijcker (Hon); 11. Antti Pyrhonen (TM); 12. Lauris Freibergs (Suz); 13. Manuel Priem (Yam); 14. Marcus Norlen (Suz); 15. Willy Van Wessels (Hon)

MX1 MOTO 2: 1. Stefan Everts (Yam); 2. Ben Townley (KTM); 3. Steve Ramon (KTM); 4. Josh Coppins (Hon); 5. Jonathan Barragan (KTM); 6. Manuel Priem (Yam); 7. Jussi Vehvilainen (Hon); 8. Kevin Srijbos (Suz); 9. Bas Verhoeven (Hon); 10. Danny Theybers (Suz); 11. Antti Pyrhonen (TM); 12. Yoshi Atsuta (Suz); 13. Kenneth Gundersen (KTM); 14. Ken De Djcker (Hon); 15. Lauris Freibergs (Suz)

MX2 MOTO 1: 1. Marc De Reuver (KTM); 2. Tyla Rattray (KTM); 3. Billy Mackenzie (Yam); 4. Patrick Caps (Hon); 5. David Philippaerts (KTM); 6. Alessio Chiodi (Yam); 7. Antonio Cairoli (Yam); 8. Rui Gonvalves (Yam); 9. Andrew McFarlane (Yam); 10. Christophe Pourcel (Kaw); 11. Marcus Schiffer (KTM); 12. Sebastien Pourcel (Kaw); 13. Garath Swanepoel (Kaw); 14. Max Nagl (KTM); 15. Davide Guarneri (Yam)

MX2 MOTO2: 1. Tyla Rattray (KTM); 2. Marc De Reuver (KTM); 3. David Philippaerts (KTM); 4. Billy Mackenzie (Yam); 5. Sebastian Pourcel (Kaw); 6. Christophe Pourcel (Kaw); 7. Carl Nunn (KTM); 8. Antonio Cairoli (Yam); 9. Rui Goncalves (Yam); 10. Alessio Chiodi (Yam); 11. Anthony Boissiere (Yam); 12. Max Nagl (KTM); 13. Pierre Renet (Yam); 14. Marcus Schiffer (KTM); 15. Nicolas Aubin (Yam)

By Freelance