Walters Thumps to 4-Stroke Win

Cycle News Staff | February 20, 2001

The opening round of the AMA Western 4-Stroke National MX Series got underway, February 18, at Speedworld MX Park near Phoenix, Arizona, and defending champ White Brothers/Yamaha rider Spud Walters came away with the overall win.

Walters won a hard-fought battle in the first moto over KTM rider Jimmy LaMastus, Husaberg-mounted Ryan Terlecki, and Yamaha riders Kip Sandell and Nathan Woods.

Walters and LaMastus went at it again in the second moto, with Walters again coming out on top over LaMastus, Woods, Terlecki and Sandell.