Daytona 200 Results 2019 (Updated)

Rennie Scaysbrook | March 16, 2019

Daytona 200 Results 2019

Daytona 200 Results 2019 Kyle Wyman wins
Wyman (33) just held on for his first Daytona 200 victory.

Kyle Wyman (N2 Racing Yamaha) clinched his first Daytona 200 victory today, coming out on top after a four-lap spring to the finish following a late red flag.

Wyman topped pole sitter Sean Dylan Kelly (M4 ECSTAR Suzuki) and Kelly’s teammate Bobby Fong. Veteran Josh Hayes (MP13 Yamaha) came home fourth at the flag.

The overall margin between Wyman and sixth-place finisher Geoff May (Yamaha) was 1.206 seconds, with Wyman taking $25,000 home for the win.

Wyman’s win came after the red flag fell on the 54th lap following a crash to Yamaha rider Jason Aguilar, setting up a four-lap spring to the finish. The Arizona resident took the lead on lap 57, holding it to the flag to finish 0.213 seconds up on Kelly.

“To win it like this, Daytona, in a four-lap sprint race, it’s just unreal,” said Wyman, who said the red-flag period was fortuitous.

Worried about running out of fuel before the race ended, he was conserving fuel down the stretch, just trying to finish or at best carve out a podium (top three) result.

“I’m speechless – what a race … the high and lows of a 200-mile endurance race, you know,” Wyman said. “I ran out of fuel on the last lap the second stint and I was just gutted. I was riding around in third place [toward the end] but the red came out and I had another shot.”

Kelly was also the bearer of good late race fortune. The 16-year-old, who became the youngest ever Daytona 200 pole sitter yesterday, was a lap down when the red flag came out. However, he was allowed to restart on the lead lap going into the four-lap spring, and the Floridian made the most by taking second on debut.

“That restart saved the whole 200 for me,” said Kelly.

Four-time champion Danny Eslick’s quest to become the third five-time champion of the DAYTONA 200 ended early. Eslick was running in the top 10 when he went off-course on Lap 11. After getting back onto the track, he came down pit road and eventually left the race due to mechanical issues, ultimately finishing a distant 55th.

Daytona 200 Results 2019 Race (Top 20)

  1. Kyle Wyman (Yamaha YZF-R6)
  2. Sean Dylan Kelly (Suzuki GSX-R600)
  3. Bobby Fong (Suzuki GSX-R600)
  4. Josh Hayes (Yamaha YZF-R6)
  5. Brandon Paasch (Yamaha YZF-R6)
  6. Geoff May (Yamaha YZF-R6)
  7. Tyler O’Hara (Kawasaki ZX-6R)
  8. Jason DiSalvo (Yamaha YZF-R6)
  9. Jody Barry (Kawasaki ZX-6R)
  10. Ryan Jones (Kawasaki ZX-6R)
  11. Tony Storniolo (Kawasaki ZX-6R)
  12. Max Flinders (Yamaha YZF-R6)
  13. Alen Gyorfi (Yamaha YZF-R6)
  14. Pat Mooney Sr. (Yamaha YZF-R6)
  15. Jason Farrell (Kawasaki ZX-6R)
  16. Joseph Blasius (Triumph Daytona 675R)
  17. Gabriel Wingard (Yamaha YZF-R6)
  18. Adam Wingard (Yamaha YZF-R6)
  19. Rick Lind (Yamaha YZF-R6)
  20. Anthony Fania Jr. (Yamaha YZF-R6)

Daytona 200 Results 2019 Qualifying

Sean Dylan Kelly on pole at Daytona.
Youngster Sean Dylan Kelly made history at Daytona, becoming the youngest rider to score pole in the 78-year history of the event.

M4 ECSTAR Suzuki rider Sean Dylan Kelly became the youngest rider in the 78-year history of the Daytona 200 to take pole position today.

The 16-year-old Floridian clocked an average speed of 115.859 mph/1:49.064 sec to head teammate Bobby Fong (115.551 mph/1:49.354 sec) and Yamaha rider Jason Aguilar (115.551 mph/1:49.706 sec).

“I’m so, so happy to get this [pole],” said Kelly, from Hollywood, Florida. “But the important thing is [Saturday]. It will be a long, long race—but I will sleep well tonight.

“Talk about being exciting. I am absolutely stoked to be on the pole,” Kelly continued. “I didn’t really expect it coming into the weekend. It wasn’t the first thing in my mind. I knew after the Team Challenge that this would be something similar but at the same time completely different. There are a whole lot more competition and a lot of good riders this year running the 200. I was coming in after a solid week testing and today was just [about] working, working, step-by-step with my crew chief and the whole team in general. Every time out we were really improving. Everything was just going really solid.”

Defending Daytona 200 champion Danny Eslick qualified eighth.

Daytona 200 Results 2019 Combined Qualifying Times

  1. Sean Dylan Kelly (Suzuki GSX-R600) 1:49.064
  2. Bobby Fong (Suzuki GSX-R600) 1:49.354
  3. Jason Aguilar (Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:49.706
  4. Kyle Wyman (Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:49.814
  5. Tyler O’Hara (Kawasaki ZX-6R) 1:50.217
  6. Josh Hayes (Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:50.312
  7. Geoff May (Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:50.334
  8. Danny Eslick (Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:50.364
  9. Jason Farrell (Kawasaki ZX-6R) 1:50.597
  10. Brandon Paasch (Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:50.760
  11. Ryan Jones (Kawasaki ZX-6R) 1:50.854
  12. Max Angles (Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:51.046
  13. Cory West (Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:51.114
  14. Jason DiSalvo (Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:51.390
  15. Jody Barry (Kawasaki ZX-6R) 1:51.985
  16. Christian Miranda (Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:52.334
  17. Armando Ferrer (Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:52.370
  18. Carl Soltisz (Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:52.644
  19. Ross Patterson (Kawasaki ZX-6R) 1:52.711
  20. Joseph Giannotto (Yamaha YZF-R6) 1:52.846

For more road racing news and results, click here

Rennie Scaysbrook | Road Test Editor Rennie Scaysbrook is our Road Test Editor. A lifetime rider, the Aussie made the trek across the Pacific to live the dream in the U.S. of A. Likes puppies and wheelies.