Video: Yamaha Daytona 200 History

Press Release | May 2, 2013

Video: Yamaha Daytona 200 History

Extended length feature video on Yamaha’s history at Daytona

The 72nd running of the Daytona 200 was the 22nd time in the past 41 years that Yamaha has won “The Great American Motorcycle Race.” It was also the ninth time in the storied history of the Daytona 200 that Yamaha swept the podium.

The first Daytona 200 podium sweep for Yamaha occurred in 1972, which was also when Don Emde won Yamaha’s very first Daytona 200. Placing second and third, respectively, in that historic 1972 Daytona 200 were Ray Hempstead and Dave Smith. And, this past March, for the ninth time in Daytona 200 history, Yamaha riders again went 1-2-3 at the “The World Center of Racing” with Cameron Beaubier and Garrett Gerloff, who both race for the Yamaha Extended Service/Monster Energy/Graves/Yamaha Team, placing 1st and 2nd, and Yamaha rider Bobby Fong, who is a member of the RMR/Triple Crown Industries Racing Team, finishing 3rd.

To document and commemorate the occasion, Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A., presents an extended-length recap video of the 2013 Daytona 200, which also includes an historical retrospective of Don Emde’s 1972 breakthrough Daytona 200 win, with commentary by Don himself.

AMA Pro Racing News

By Video and Press Release provided by Yamaha