MotoTrials: Cody Webb And Pat Smage Big Winners in Tennessee

Shan Moore | June 29, 2014
Cody Webb

Cody Webb won both days in Tennessee. Photography by Shan Moore

Sequatchie, Tennessee (June 28-29, 2014) – Pat Smage and Cody Webb were the big winners at the final round of the 2014 Aires AMA NATC MotoTrials US National Championship Series, at the Trials Training Center in Sequatchie, Tennessee, with Webb grabbing the victory in the Pro division on both days of the two-day event. Meanwhile, Smage wrapped up his seventh US MotoTrials title with third and second place finishes. 

Rain on both days of the event made for very challenging conditions, however, Webb seemed at home with the circumstances, while Smage struggled.

Finishing in the runner-up slot each day was Gas Gas USA rider Martin Matejicek of the Czech Republic, who solidified his runner-up status in the series standings by going 2-3 over the weekend.

The Czech Republic’s Martin Matejicek put his Gas Gas on the podium both days, splitting runner-up finishes with Smage. Matejicek was second on Saturday and third on Sunday. Photo by Shan Moore

Meanwhile, the Sherco USA trio of Bryan Roper, Logan Bolopue and Daniel Blanc-Gonnet finished fourth, fifth and sixth, respectively, on both days.

Ray Peters used his mud-riding skills to sweep the Expert division in Tennessee, his two wins were enough to give the Beta USA-backed rider the top spot in the Expert class overall standings for the year. Andrew Putt (Shr) and Alex Niederer (Bet) split second and third place finishes over the weekend, leaving Putt with the runner-up slot in the final standings, while Niederer finished third in the Expert standings.




1. Cody Webb (Bet) 63

2. Martin Matejicek (GG) 68

3. Pat Smage (Shr) 74

4. Bryan Roper (Shr) 98

5. Logan Bolopue (Shr) 101

6. Daniel Blanc-Gonnet (Shr) 109


1. Ray Peters (Bet) 82

2. Andrew Putt (Shr) 93

3. Alex Niederer (Bet) 109

4. Quinn Wentzel (Shr) 119

5. Nick Fonzi (Bet) 122


1. Cody Webb (Bet) 27

2. Pat Smage (Shr) 53

3. Martin Matejicek (GG) 60

4. Bryan Roper (Shr) 87

5. Logan Bolopue (Shr) 105

6. Daniel Blanc-Gonnet (115)


1. Ray Peters (Bet) 30

2. Alex Niederer (Bet) 40

3. Andrew Putt (Shr) 42

4. Quinn Wentzel (Shr) 63

5. Nick Fonzi (Bet) 72




Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.